Case studies / RV parks

Snowbird RV park, Mohave County, Arizona

How the Mohave County Zoning Ordinance and the Arizona sanitation rules shape a model 100 to 200 site snowbird RV park, from the zoning route to the engineer of record.

Last reviewed

Allowed by right
C-RE, C-2H, and R-RV with an approved RV Park Plan [1]
Special Use Permit
Board of Supervisors after a P&Z Commission recommendation, in A, A-R, R-E, R-M, C-1 and C-2 [1]
R-RV minimum area
2 contiguous acres or one recorded block (24.B.2) [1]
State sanitation rule
ADHS 9 A.A.C. 8, Art. 5: 1 toilet per 25 dependent RVs within 400 ft; potable water within 300 ft at 20 psi [2, 3]
Inspection
County Environmental Health, at least annually [4]

A model project in a county that publishes its RV park rules

This is a model project: a 100 to 200 site snowbird RV park in unincorporated Mohave County, Arizona, used to show how the county ordinance and the state rules shape a preliminary site plan. It is not a built or commissioned project.

Mohave County regulates RV parks through its Zoning Ordinance, adopted Nov 2, 2015 and revised through Aug 3, 2026 (2026-05) [1]. The RV park standards sit in Section 37.G, with a Petition of Exception route in 37.G.6 [5]. The county allows RV parks by right only in C-RE and C-2H, and in R-RV with an approved RV Park Plan; everywhere else the use takes a Special Use Permit issued by the Board of Supervisors [1].

The state layer is the Arizona Department of Health Services rule, 9 A.A.C. 8, Article 5 (R9-8-501 to R9-8-507, effective March 6, 2019), which replaced the old trailer coach rules; some county pages still post the repealed text [2, 6]. The state rule regulates sanitation and water and sets no density or site-size rule, so the layout numbers come from the county [2].

One limit of the record should be stated up front: the numeric density, space size, setback and street width values inside Section 37.G were not retrieved for this case. The page shows where each rule sits and what the plan must prove against it, and it does not fill the gap with assumed numbers. The design method follows the RV park site plan hub; the statewide picture is on the Arizona RV park site plan page and the Arizona site plan page; and the other model projects are in the case studies.

At a glance

ItemModel projectSource
AssetSnowbird RV parkModel
Program (model assumption)100 to 200 sitesModel
Typical parcel (planning assumption)10 to 25 acres for 100 to 200 sites; the 37.G density figure is not in the record retrievedModel
JurisdictionUnincorporated Mohave County[1]
By rightC-RE (Section 17.C.3); C-2H (Section 30.C.4); R-RV with an approved RV Park Plan (Section 24.B.1.b); R-P and C-P public parks[1]
Special Use Permit districtsA (13.D.3), A-R (15.D.1), R-E (16.D.2), R-M (23.D.2), C-1 (27.D.1), C-2 (29.D.1), R-MH with an MH park (22.D.1), A-D (14.D.4)[1]
SUP bodyBoard of Supervisors after a P&Z Commission recommendation[1]
R-RV minimum2 contiguous acres or one recorded block[1]
State rule9 A.A.C. 8, Art. 5 (effective March 6, 2019); inspections under A.R.S. 36-136(I)(8)[2]
Licensing and inspectionMohave County Environmental Health, under ADHS delegation and a county public accommodations ordinance; inspected at least annually[4]
RV resort amenity planning concept
Illustrative concept, not the subject site

Approval path

Every approval in order. "Not stated" means the county or state record retrieved does not publish the value.

#ApprovalBodyCodeStageFeeTimelineSeal
1Pre-application or concept review (mandatory for a PAD)Development ServicesSection 26.C.1Pre-applicationBoard resolution (Section 7)Not statedNo [1]
2Rezone to R-RV or C-RE, or a Special Use PermitP&Z Commission, then Board of SupervisorsSections 46, 39ZoningBoard resolutionNot statedNo [1]
3RV Park Plan, plus a Petition of Exception if neededDirectorSection 37.GSite planBoard resolutionNot statedNot stated [5]
4Site planDevelopment ServicesSection 37.NSite planBoard resolutionNot statedNot stated [1]
5Wastewater and aquifer protectionADEQ or delegated countyA.A.C. Title 18, Ch. 5 and Ch. 9; an Aquifer Protection Permit (A.R.S. 49-241) for discharging facilities, including on-site wastewater treatment facilitiesStateNot statedNot statedArizona PE (R18-5-507(B) cited) [7, 8]
6Construction stormwaterADEQAZPDES CGP AZG2025-001, for 1 or more acres of disturbance with a discharge to a WOTUS or MS4Pre-constructionNot statedBefore disturbanceNot stated [9]
7Water supplyADWR and ADEQNot statedStateNot statedNot statedNot stated
8Floodplain permitMohave County Flood Control DistrictFlood Control Ordinance (37.K.2.f)SiteNot statedNot statedNot stated [10]
9PoolsADEQ construction approval, then ADHS and county operationA.A.C. Title 18 Ch. 5 Art. 2; Title 9 Ch. 8BuildingNot statedNot statedEngineer [11]
10Building permits (county-wide building code since June 7, 2007)Building DivisionSection 12.ABuildingNot statedNot statedNot stated [1]
11Public accommodation permitEnvironmental HealthCounty ordinance under ADHS delegationOperation2023 fee schedule (amount not retrieved) [12]Annual inspectionNo [4]
12State highway accessADOTNot statedAccessNot statedNot statedNot stated

The one published county clock in the record is the PAD minor amendment, at 15 working days [1]. The choice at row 2 shapes everything after it. On land already zoned C-RE or C-2H, or rezoned to R-RV with an RV Park Plan, the use needs no Special Use Permit; on A, A-R, R-E, R-M, C-1 or C-2 land, the project goes to a Planning and Zoning Commission recommendation and a Board decision [1].

Two state permits sit under the site plan. ADEQ construction stormwater coverage is under AZPDES CGP AZG2025-001, effective August 29, 2025 and expiring August 28, 2030; it applies to construction disturbing "1 or more acres" or part of a common plan, with a discharge to a WOTUS or MS4, and the erosivity waiver is limited to 1 to 5 acre sites not near impaired waters or Outstanding Arizona Waters [9]. The Aquifer Protection Permit under A.R.S. 49-241 is required for discharging facilities, including sewage treatment facilities "including on-site wastewater treatment facilities" and dry wells, so a package wastewater plant or drywells on an RV park fall within its scope [8].

Design standards

County standards (Mohave County Zoning Ordinance).

StandardValueCitation
Density, space size, setbacks, street widthsSet in 37.G (Development Standards, General Standards, Recreational Area Standards); numeric values not in the record retrieved37.G [5]
Deviation routePetition of Exception approved by the Director on three criteria37.G.6 [5]
Manufactured home park analogs3 acre minimum park; recreation areas at least 2,500 sq ft; units 10 ft from boundaries and streets; screening between MH and RV uses in joint parks37.F [13]
RV subdivision lot2,500 sq ft minimum; enclosed accessory up to the greater of 250 sq ft or 10 percent of the lot37.K.4 [10]
Park modelsAn independent park model counts as an RV in RV parks; a dependent park model may be a permanent residence in RV parks37.G; 37.K.3 [5, 14]
LightingOutdoor Light ControlSection 38 [1]
ParkingParking standardsSection 36 [1]
SignsSign standardsSection 42 [1]
ScreeningView-obscuring device per 37.E.4 on lines abutting A-R or incompatible uses (commercial zones)17.B.2, 29.B.4 [1]
Slope (PAD)Buildings on slopes over 20 percent get an extra downhill story; cluster open space prioritizes slopes over 25 percent26.E.3; 12.1.D.1 [1]

State standards (ADHS 9 A.A.C. 8, Article 5).

StandardValueCitation
ToiletsOne bathroom or toilet alternative per 25 dependent RVs, within 400 ft of every dwelling spaceR9-8-503 [2, 3]
WaterPotable water within 300 ft, at 20 psi; testing if the park is not a public water systemR9-8-505 [2]
SewagePer 18 A.A.C. 9; a dump station ratio was not foundR9-8-506 [2]
Dwelling spaceDefined by occupancy of more than 30 daysR9-8-501(9) [2]
Density and site sizeNo rule at state levelArt. 5 [2]

National standards that act on the layout.

StandardValueCitation
NEC 551.71 (2023 text)Every site with electrical supply has at least one 20 A, 125 V receptacle; at least 70 percent need a 30 A receptacle; at least 40 percent of new sites need a 50 A, 125/250 V receptacle; every 50 A site also has a 30 A receptacle[15]
NEC Informational Note (2023 text)Seasonal parks could approach 100 percent 50 A[15]
NFIP, 44 CFR 60.3(c)(14)An RV in a Special Flood Hazard Area must meet manufactured home elevation and anchoring unless it is on site fewer than 180 consecutive days, or is fully licensed and ready for highway use[16]
AccessibilityThe 2010 ADA Standards govern a private park's buildings, accessible routes and parking; for RV parking the Access Board points to 20 ft wide spaces, or 16 ft for a second adjoining space, with accessible utility and sewage hookups[17, 18]

No verbatim text of the 37.G numeric standards is in the record retrieved, so this page cites those provisions by section rather than quoting them. The two layout numbers the record does fix are the ADHS 400 ft walk to a toilet for dependent RVs and the 300 ft reach to potable water [2, 3]. For a seasonal park, the NEC note in the 2023 text matters as much: the 40 percent 50 A figure is a floor, and the code warns that seasonal parks could approach 100 percent 50 A [15].

Diagram of an RV park with rows of sites and the reach of a toilet building and a water point
Illustrative diagram, not to scale: the model RV park program with the toilet and water reach figures this page cites from the sources listed below.

Determination

Mohave County's record publishes no resized program for this asset: the density, space size and setback numbers sit in Section 37.G and were not retrieved, so the 100 to 200 site program is tested against 37.G at RV Park Plan review, with the Petition of Exception in 37.G.6 as the published route for any deviation [5].

What the record does settle for the model:

  • Zoning route. The model assumes a parcel in, or rezoned to, R-RV or C-RE so that the RV Park Plan is the decisive review; on any other district the program goes to the Board as a Special Use Permit [1].
  • Long-stay units. A snowbird program raises the long-stay question. ADHS defines a dwelling space by occupancy of more than 30 days, and the county lets a dependent park model serve as a permanent residence in an RV park while an independent park model counts as an RV [2, 5, 14]. Under Arizona's Recreational Vehicle Long-Term Rental Space Act, a stay of more than 180 days makes the occupant a tenant (A.R.S. 33-2102) [19]. The plan marks which pads are drawn for park models and which for RVs.
  • Sanitation. The ADHS toilet ratio applies to dependent RVs, so the bathhouse count depends on how many sites are drawn without full hookups [2, 3].
  • Electrical. The pedestal schedule follows NEC 551.71 in its 2023 text, with the seasonal-park note in view [15].
  • Stormwater. A model parcel of 10 to 25 acres (planning assumption) is above the CGP's 1 acre threshold, so the ADEQ notice of intent is part of the schedule [9].

Site data and yield

The preliminary plan carries a site data table on the sheet. For this model it reads:

Site data itemValueSource
Program100 to 200 sites (model)Model
ZoningR-RV with RV Park Plan, or C-RE, or C-2H; otherwise SUP district[1]
Minimum area for R-RV2 contiguous acres[1]
Parcel (planning assumption)10 to 25 acresModel
Density, space size, setbacksPer 37.G (values not in the record retrieved)[5]
Toilets1 per 25 dependent RVs, within 400 ft[2]
Potable waterWithin 300 ft of each dwelling space, 20 psi[2]
Electrical mix (NEC 2023 text)20 A at every site; 30 A at 70 percent; 50 A at 40 percent of new sites[15]
Parking, lighting, signsSections 36, 38 and 42[1]

For yield context from elsewhere in Arizona: Coconino County caps RV parks at 12 per acre unless the Board of Supervisors approves a master plan, and requires 10 ft between units and 10 ft from property lines [20]. The Town of Parker sets a maximum density of 20 spaces per net acre, spaces of 1,250 sq ft and 30 ft wide, and 5 ft between RVs including awnings (10-11-16) [21]. The City of Eloy requires one 9 x 20 ft visitor space per 8 RV spaces (21-2-7.10) [22]. The RV sites per acre guide sets these against the state caps.

Comparable approvals

No Mohave County RV park approval is in the record retrieved, so this page names no Mohave County comparable.

Elsewhere in Arizona, the record shows how other jurisdictions route the same use: Apache County requires a CUP for any RV park (Art. 11 s. 1107) [23]; the Town of Parker requires a CUP in R-3, approved by the town council, bans park models and limits stays to 180 days per year [21]; Coconino County allows more than 12 per acre only through a Board-approved master plan in its RC and PC zones [20]. The other model RV cases: RV resort, Bandera County, Texas, RV park, Polk County, Florida and RV resort with cabins, Sevier County, Tennessee.

Cost and phasing

An Arizona per-pad cost is not in the record retrieved. The county publishes no fee amounts in the ordinance: planning fees are set by Board resolution (Section 7), and the Environmental Health fee schedule was revised in 2023 [1, 12].

ItemBenchmarkSource and quality
Site development per pad$15,000 to $50,000+ (secondary)RoverPass, 2025; national [24]
Professionally engineered site"$40,000 to $70,000 per pad" (secondary)RoverPass, 2026; national [25]
Resort-quality park"$5 million or more for 100-site resort-quality properties" (secondary)RoverPass, 2025 [24]

Phasing has one published deadline: under a PAD, the first final plat or site plan is due within 2 years of PAD approval (26.D.6) [1]. A phased plan therefore shows the full build-out at zoning and RV Park Plan review and times the first phase's site plan inside that window. More national context: 2026 RV park development cost benchmarks.

Submittal anatomy: what the plan carries and what the engineer adds

StageWhat the county record requiresThe preliminary site plan carriesThe engineer of record adds
PAD concept reviewA map, narrative, topographic description, preliminary drainage plan and phasing; projects of 80 acres or more hold a community meeting with notice to owners within one-half mile, at least four weeks before the P&Z hearing (26.C.2, 26.C.3) [1]Map, layout, program, phasing lines, site data tablePreliminary drainage plan
Rezone or SUPCommission and Board review (Sections 46, 39) [1]Layout showing districts, buffers and the screening required by 37.E.4Nothing sealed is required at zoning in the record
RV Park PlanSection 37.G standards; Petition of Exception exhibits where needed [5]Pads, roads, recreation areas and park model pods against 37.GNot stated
Site planSection 37.N [1]Final layout, parking (Section 36), lighting locations (Section 38), signs (Section 42)Civil design for grading, drainage and utilities
WastewaterADEQ engineering review under 18 A.A.C. 5; Aquifer Protection Permit scope under A.R.S. 49-241 [7, 8]Pad and bathhouse locationsEngineering submittals by an Arizona PE (R18-5-507(B) cited)
Construction stormwaterNotice of intent under AZG2025-001 [9]Limits of disturbance and phase linesSWPPP and stormwater controls
PoolsADEQ construction approval [11]Pool location in the amenity coreEngineered pool design

The preliminary plan is the base sheet for every stage; it does not carry sewer, water or electrical design, or grading and drainage engineering. Those are drawn by the client's engineer of record on top of it. More on the service: preliminary site plan.

Conditions and handoff

  • Operation. A public accommodation permit from Environmental Health, with inspection at least annually [4].
  • Flood. RVs in a Special Flood Hazard Area must comply with the Mohave County Flood Control Ordinance (37.K.2.f) [10]. Under the federal NFIP rule, an RV on site 180 consecutive days or more that is not fully licensed and ready for highway use must meet manufactured home elevation and anchoring, which bears directly on long seasonal stays [16].
  • Dark sky. Section 38 Outdoor Light Control applies to pole and pedestal lighting [1].
  • Screening. A view-obscuring device on lines abutting A-R or incompatible uses in commercial zones [1].
  • Park models. Pads drawn for dependent park models are permanent-residence pads under 37.K.3.a; the model groups them in their own pod [14].

Handoff. The preliminary plan fixes the layout, the yield and the site data table. The engineer of record then prepares the ADEQ wastewater engineering (sealed by an Arizona PE), any Aquifer Protection Permit, the SWPPP for the construction stormwater permit, the water supply submittal to ADWR and ADEQ, the drainage plan for the Flood Control District, and the electrical service under NEC Article 551 [7, 8, 9, 15]. Views for hearings and marketing are covered on the RV park and resort rendering page, and the wider entitlement sequence is set out in the definitive guide to RV resort entitlement.

Frequently asked questions

Where is an RV park allowed by right in Mohave County?

In C-RE, C-2H, and R-RV with an RV Park Plan (17.C.3, 30.C.4, 24.B.1) [1].

Who grants a Special Use Permit for an RV park?

The Board of Supervisors after a recommendation from the Planning and Zoning Commission (Section 8 definition) [1].

Can a project deviate from Section 37.G?

Yes, through a Petition of Exception approved by the Director on three criteria (37.G.6) [5].

Can snowbirds live in park models year-round?

Dependent park models may be permanent residences in RV parks (37.K.3.a); an independent park model counts as an RV [14, 5].

What is the minimum area for an R-RV rezoning?

2 contiguous acres, or one recorded block (24.B.2) [1].

Does Arizona set a density cap for RV parks?

No. The ADHS rule (9 A.A.C. 8, Art. 5) has no density or site-size rule; counties and towns set them. Coconino County caps density at 12 per acre unless the Board of Supervisors approves a master plan, and the Town of Parker sets a maximum of 20 spaces per net acre [2, 20, 21].

Who inspects an RV park in Mohave County?

County Environmental Health, under ADHS delegation and a county public accommodations ordinance, at least annually [4].

Are the county fees in the ordinance?

No. Mohave County sets its planning fees by Board resolution (Section 7), and Environmental Health fees were revised in 2023 [1, 12].

Sources

  1. 1)Mohave County Zoning Ordinance (adopted Nov 2, 2015; revised through Aug 3, 2026), Mohave County. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  2. 2)9 A.A.C. 8, Article 5, R9-8-501 to R9-8-507 (effective March 6, 2019), Arizona Secretary of State (ADHS rule). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  3. 3)Ariz. Admin. Code R9-8-503, Bathroom, Toilet Alternative, and Shower Room Management, Arizona Department of Health Services (via Cornell Legal Information Institute, secondary copy). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  4. 4)Public Accommodations, Mohave County Environmental Health. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  5. 5)Sec. 37.G, RV Parks, General Provisions, Mohave County Code of Ordinances, Mohave County (via elaws). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  6. 6)Trailer coach parks rulemaking, March draft rules, Arizona Department of Health Services. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  7. 7)18 A.A.C. 5 (ADEQ), Supp. 25-1, Arizona Secretary of State. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  8. 8)A.R.S. 49-241, Permit required to discharge, Arizona State Legislature. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  9. 9)AZPDES Construction Activity General Permit (CGP) for Stormwater, Arizona Department of Environmental Quality. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  10. 10)Section 37.K, Mohave County Planning and Zoning Division. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  11. 11)Swimming Pools and Spas, Mohave County Environmental Health. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  12. 12)Memorandum on the Environmental Health fee schedule (Board of Supervisors, proposed), Mohave County. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  13. 13)Sec. 37.F, Manufactured Home Parks, General Provisions, Mohave County Code of Ordinances, Mohave County (via elaws). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  14. 14)Sec. 37.K, Establishment of Recreational Vehicles and Park Model Units, Mohave County Code of Ordinances, Mohave County (via elaws). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  15. 15)551.71 Receptacle Requirements at RV Parks (NEC 2023 text), Leviton Captain Code. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  16. 16)Recreational Vehicle (glossary, 44 CFR 59.1 and 60.3), FEMA. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  17. 17)Chapter 10: Outdoor Developed Areas, U.S. Access Board. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  18. 18)Chapter 5: Parking Spaces, U.S. Access Board. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  19. 19)A.R.S. 33-2102, Definitions (Recreational Vehicle Long-Term Rental Space Act), Arizona State Legislature (via Justia). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  20. 20)RV Parks in Commercial Zoning Districts (Section 3.18), Coconino County. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  21. 21)10-11-16: Recreational Vehicle Parks, Town of Parker Code, Town of Parker (via American Legal Publishing). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  22. 22)21-2-7.10: Recreational Vehicle Park Development Guidelines, City of Eloy Code, City of Eloy (via American Legal Publishing). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  23. 23)Recreational Vehicle Placement Policy (January 6, 2022 Planning and Zoning backup documents), Apache County. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  24. 24)RV Park Cost 2025: Key Insights for Success, RoverPass (industry, secondary). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  25. 25)RV Park Build Cost: 2026 Real Numbers, RoverPass (industry, secondary). Accessed 2026-10-09.

All case studies

Start a project

Bring us the site. We draw the first plan.

Send the parcel, the program and anything you already have: a survey, a sketch, a zoning letter. The studio returns a preliminary site plan your engineer of record can build on.

Start a project