What changes a site plan in Tennessee
Five Tennessee conditions shape the drawing before a planning commission sees it. Each one adds a seal, a permit or a constraint line.
A statutory seal line at 3 stories and 5,000 sq ft. Under T.C.A. 62-2-102(b), only a registered architect or engineer may prepare plans and specifications for a building, except business, factory-industrial, hazardous, mercantile, residential and storage occupancies that are both less than three stories in height and less than 5,000 square feet in total gross area, one- and two-family dwellings, farm buildings not designed for human occupancy, and signs below set limits [1]. The section was amended by 2022 Tenn. Acts ch. 904, effective July 1, 2022 [1]. Above the line, the registrant stamps all original sheets of any bound set of plans and the first sheet of any specifications, and may not seal a document not prepared by or under the registrant's responsibility (T.C.A. 62-2-306) [7]. For a larger building, the preliminary plan is the concept the architect or engineer of record builds the sealed set on.
Grading waits on the stream permit. Any alteration of a stream, river, lake or wetland needs an Aquatic Resource Alteration Permit (ARAP) before it begins, and the ARAP serves as the Section 401 water quality certification where a Corps Section 404 permit is involved [3]. Construction stormwater permits are not issued until the ARAP or 401 decision is made [4]. TDEC's Construction General Permit, TNR100000, covers disturbance of 1 acre or more, or less than 1 acre within a larger common plan totaling 1 acre or more [2]. The 2026 permit took effect October 1, 2026 and expires September 30, 2031 [8], and the Notice of Intent goes in at least 30 days before land disturbance [9].
Driveways on state routes need TDOT first. No one may build a driveway or encroachment on state highway right-of-way, including modifying or changing the use of an existing driveway, without a state Highway Entrance Permit [10]. When TDOT determines it is necessary, a traffic impact study prepared by a licensed professional engineer to ITE standards is required, and the applicant is told during initial review [11].
Karst in Middle Tennessee, earthquakes in the west. Murfreesboro's Stormwater Management Code (Chapter 27.5) defines karst, karst windows and closed depressions in a landscape "characterized by sinkholes, springs, conduits, caves" [12]. A 2006 USGS report documented sinkhole flooding in Murfreesboro and Rutherford County, with three focus areas (Shiloh, Hooper Bottom and Manson Pike) where it has overtopped roadways [13], and Rutherford County's Engineering Department reviews site development plans for stormwater and karst-area compliance under an ordinance updated in 2024 [14]. West Tennessee lies in the New Madrid Seismic Zone, where USGS states there is "a 25-40% probability of a magnitude 6.0 or greater in the next 50 years" [15]. Western counties carry higher Seismic Design Categories (C or D), and site classes near the Mississippi River run from D to F with liquefaction potential [15].
The lakes answer to TVA. Section 26a of the TVA Act requires TVA approval before anyone builds, operates or maintains an obstruction, such as a dock, pier, marina or launch ramp, across, along or in the Tennessee River or its tributaries [16]. With a complete application the process typically takes up to 100 days, TVA warns it can run to 120 days, and TVA may not issue the 26a permit until state water quality permits are obtained [17].

Approval layers: state, county and city
Tennessee's planning law, Title 13 of the Tennessee Code Annotated, is enabling: it lets local governments and their planning commissions plan, adopt subdivision regulations and zone [18]. Municipal planning commissions are enabled under Chapter 4 and regional, usually county, commissions under Chapter 3, and most regional commissions are single-county bodies [18]. T.C.A. 13-3-413 and 13-4-310 let both kinds write site plan review and approval into their subdivision regulations [19].
| Layer | Who acts | What it decides |
|---|---|---|
| State | TDEC, TDOT, the Department of Health, the State Fire Marshal and TVA | Stormwater and stream permits, state route access, organized camp permits, building codes, lakeshore structures [3, 10, 16] |
| County | Regional planning commission, usually single-county, for unincorporated land | Subdivision plats, site plans where its regulations provide for them, zoning where the county has adopted it [18] |
| City | Municipal planning commission, staff and the legislative body | Site plans, subdivisions and rezonings inside city limits [18] |
Mandatory referral. Under T.C.A. 13-4-104 and 13-3-404, no street, park, public way, public building or public utility, publicly or privately owned, may be built or authorized until its location and extent have been submitted to and approved by the planning commission, and the legislative body can overrule a disapproval [20].
Plats. Under regional planning regulations, a subdivision is a division of a tract into two or more lots requiring new street or utility construction, or any division of less than five acres for sale or building development (T.C.A. 13-3-401) [21]. Where a county has no countywide zoning, subdivision regulation and mandatory referral still apply through the regional planning commission.
Staff or commission. Who approves a site plan depends on local regulations. In Metro Nashville the Planning Commission approves, approves with conditions or disapproves subdivision requests after a staff recommendation and public hearing [22]; many jurisdictions delegate by-right site plans to staff and keep subdivisions, PUDs and discretionary approvals for the commission.
Codes. The State Fire Marshal's Office has adopted the 2021 edition of most International Codes (IBC, IFC, IMC, IPC, IPMC, IECC, IFGC), with the 2018 IRC as the exception, under Rule 0780-02-02 [23]. If a city does not adopt and enforce codes, or its code is not current within seven years, the statewide code and the State Fire Marshal's enforcement apply (T.C.A. 68-120-101 et seq.) [24].
Who prepares and seals what
| Deliverable | Prepared by | Seal or certification |
|---|---|---|
| Preliminary site plan: layout, buildings, parking, pads, sites, yield and site data table | Site planning studio | None. Murfreesboro's due diligence meeting asks for "a dimensioned conceptual site plan" with a site data table [25] |
| Building plans at 3 stories or 5,000 sq ft gross and above, or outside the exempt occupancies | Registered architect or engineer | Seal on all original sheets of the plans (T.C.A. 62-2-306) [1, 7] |
| Subdivision plat | Registered land surveyor, or registered engineer | Signature and seal; the register of deeds may not record without them (T.C.A. 66-24-116) [26]. The seal certifies that the plat meets the Standards of Practice (Rule 0820-03) [27] |
| Site plans for Metro Nashville permits | Licensed Tennessee land surveyor or engineer | The surveyor or engineer "must seal all site plans" [28] |
| SWPPP on impaired or exceptional waters | A preparer who has completed TDEC's EPSC Level II Design course | Erosion controls designed for the 5-year, 24-hour storm [29] |
| Traffic impact study for TDOT | Licensed professional engineer, to ITE standards | Required when TDOT determines it necessary [11] |
| Grading, drainage, utility and stormwater design | The client's engineer of record | Outside the preliminary plan |
Above the statutory line, the sealed set is prepared under the responsible charge of the architect or engineer of record, who builds it on the preliminary plan. The who prepares a site plan guide sets out the division of work, and the site plan architect page covers the handoff to the architect of record.
Statewide overlays
| Overlay | Rule | On the plan |
|---|---|---|
| Construction stormwater | Construction General Permit TNR100000 at 1 acre or more, or less within a larger common plan [2]; the 2026 permit runs to September 30, 2031 [8]; Notice of Intent at least 30 days before disturbance [9] | Disturbed acreage and phasing |
| Streams and wetlands | ARAP before any alteration of waters of the state, as general or individual coverage, serving as the Section 401 certification [3]; compensatory mitigation rules revised by the Water Quality Control Board in October 2018 [30] | Streams and wetlands drawn as constraints |
| State route access | Highway Entrance Permit before any driveway or encroachment on state right-of-way [10]; traffic impact study when TDOT requires it [11] | Driveway location on the state route |
| Building codes | 2021 International Codes with the 2018 IRC (Rule 0780-02-02) [23]; statewide enforcement where local programs fall short [24] | Building footprint, height and stories |
| TVA shoreline | Section 26a approval for docks, piers, marinas and launch ramps; typically up to 100 days, possibly 120 [16, 17] | Shoreline structures and slips |
| Karst | Murfreesboro Chapter 27.5 defines karst, karst windows and closed depressions [12]; Rutherford County reviews karst-area compliance [14] | Sinkholes and closed depressions drawn as constraints |
Top jurisdictions
| Jurisdiction | Approval body | Portal | Published rule or number |
|---|---|---|---|
| Metro Nashville and Davidson County | Metro Planning Commission, after staff recommendation and public hearing [22]; Specific Plan rezoning by Metro Council, then a Final Site Plan [31] | ePlans, with one set of plans reviewed concurrently by all permitting departments since September 8, 2025 [32] | Subdivision regulations apply county-wide except Belle Meade, Berry Hill, Forest Hills, Goodlettsville and Oak Hill [33]; a capacity study or permit comes with the final site plan [31] |
| Williamson County and Franklin | Williamson County Regional Planning Commission; Franklin Municipal Planning Commission | IDT Plans for all county planning commission applications [34] | Franklin site plan review: $500 base plus $0.02 per sq ft nonresidential plus $10 per dwelling unit (fee schedule effective 5/1/2019) [6]; county development fees above $250 must be justified under T.C.A. 5-1-137 [34] |
| Rutherford County and Murfreesboro | Murfreesboro Planning Commission: seven commissioners, including two City Council members, on three-year terms, meeting the third Wednesday [35] | Not stated | Planning Commission site plan approval for any development of one or more acres or five thousand square feet of floor area in a nonresidential district [36] |
| Knox County and Knoxville | Knoxville-Knox County Planning | Accela (KnoxPlans with ProjectDox); city and county portals are separate | Not stated |
| Hamilton County and Chattanooga | Chattanooga-Hamilton County RPA; city Land Development Office | OpenGov | Not stated |
| Shelby County and Memphis | Land Use Control Board, serving several Shelby municipalities; Bartlett and Collierville run their own | Develop901 (Accela-based) | Not stated |
| Sevier County, Sevierville, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg | Each jurisdiction's regional planning commission | Not stated | Pigeon Forge approves a travel trailer park only as a planned unit development [37] |
| Montgomery County and Clarksville | Clarksville-Montgomery County Regional Planning Commission | Not stated | A site plan is required except for one- and two-family dwellings |
| Wilson and Sumner counties | County planning; Mount Juliet, Lebanon, Hendersonville and Gallatin city planning | County and city portals | Not stated |
Murfreesboro publishes a concept-stage door. Its due diligence meeting is required for master plans, preliminary plats, site plans, annexation and rezoning requests beyond the conceptual stage, and "a dimensioned conceptual site plan is required depicting all proposed and existing structures, vehicle and pedestrian access, parking, landscaping, potential drainage area(s) and a site data table" [25]. The pre-application meeting follows, with plans "90-95% complete" [25], requested at least 2 weeks before the initial submittal [38]; staff then tell the applicant whether the Planning Commission or staff will review the site plan [38]. Sewer capacity can hold a project after approval: in a 2022 case, staff stated that an applicant could not obtain building permits until sanitary sewer upgrades were constructed and completed [39]. The model project at select-service hotel, Murfreesboro carries the full approval path.
Franklin requires a staff meeting before it accepts an application, and its site plans carry an Owner Affidavit, a fire flow test and a Water/Sewer Availability Determination [40, 41]. A Development Plan (PUD) typically takes 4.5 to 5 months through BOMA when all steps are met on time [40].
Pigeon Forge approves a travel trailer park only as "any plot of land approved as a planned unit development" (Zoning Ordinance 340.1 and Section 407) [37]. The model project at RV resort with cabins, Sevier County carries the PUD path in full.
Nashville zones by Specific Plan: the site plan is the zoning, and all preliminary SP conditions must be satisfied before a building permit [31]. Self storage often needs a legislative step; the October 9, 2025 Council agenda carried a PUD amendment "to permit self-service storage uses" [42]. See also the Nashville metro page.
Asset registries
| Asset | State rule | Numbers and content that shape the plan | Local layer |
|---|---|---|---|
| RV parks and RV resorts | Department of Health organized camp permit (T.C.A. 68-110-103) [43]; Rule 1200-01-05 regulates RV parks as organized camps, a travel camp being one whose sites have utility hookups, and requires plan approval for construction [5] | Units 15 ft or more apart, and a fixture table by site count where no local code governs, with holding-tank RVs exempt, in the July 2002 rule text [5]; annual travel camp fee: 1 to 25 sites $80, 26 to 75 $120, 76 to 150 $170, 151 to 250 $230, 251 or more $310 [43] | Density and site size are set locally; Pigeon Forge requires a PUD [37] |
| Campgrounds, cabins and glamping | The same organized camp rule; "organized camp" includes permanent or semipermanent sleeping structures [44] | Plan approval for construction under Rule 1200-01-05 [5] | Cabin and glamping unit classification is set locally |
| Gas stations, c-stores and truck stops | TDEC Division of Underground Storage Tanks, Rules 0400-18 [45], an EPA-approved state program (40 CFR 282.92) [46]; Pre-Installation Notification at least 15 days before installation [47]; Form CN-1260 for registration, closures, upgrades and ownership changes within 30 days [48] | Tank field, dispensers and canopy on the layout | Use permission and site standards are set locally |
| Car washes | Set locally | Stacking, water reuse and discharge, to the local rules | Set locally, including in Nashville |
| Hotels and short-term rentals | Short-Term Rental Unit Act (T.C.A. 13-7-601 to 13-7-606, effective May 17, 2018): no local ban or restriction based on classification, use or occupancy, but regulation for health and safety by the least restrictive means [49, 50] | Legacy status ends on sale or transfer, 30 continuous months of non-STR use, or three unappealable violations [49] | Murfreesboro allows a hotel by right where Chart 1 marks it "X" (Ordinance 24-O-40) [51] |
| Self storage | Set locally | Nashville often uses a PUD amendment to permit self-service storage [42] | Mount Juliet: Public Storage is developing a four-story, 116,948 sq ft, 900-unit climate-controlled facility [52] |
| Marinas | TVA Section 26a approval for docks, piers, marinas and launch ramps; new-construction fee typically $500; TVA may not issue the 26a until state water quality permits are obtained [16, 17] | ARAP and Section 401 certification where waters are altered [3] | Rockwood Marina & RV Resort on Watts Bar Lake is a new build with 150 RV sites and 70 covered marina slips [53] |
| Industrial | Factory-industrial and storage buildings under 3 stories and under 5,000 sq ft fall outside the architect or engineer requirement; larger ones do not [1] | Karst features in Middle Tennessee and seismic design in the west [12, 15] | Set locally |
Layout standards for each class sit on the national hubs: RV parks, RV resorts, campgrounds, glamping, gas stations, truck stops, car washes, hotels, self storage, marinas and industrial. The Tennessee asset pages are RV park site plans in Tennessee and hotel site plans in Tennessee, and the RV sites per acre guide covers density. Related reading: the RV park and resort regulatory matrix, hotel and motel site plan requirements and the Lone Oaks Farm cabins in West Tennessee.
Timelines and bottlenecks
| Step | Published duration | Source |
|---|---|---|
| TDEC Notice of Intent | At least 30 days before land disturbance | [9] |
| Murfreesboro pre-application meeting | Requested at least 2 weeks before the initial submittal | [38] |
| Franklin Development Plan (PUD) | 4.5 to 5 months through BOMA when all steps are met on time | [40] |
| TVA Section 26a permit | Up to 100 days with a complete application, possibly 120 | [17] |
| UST Pre-Installation Notification | At least 15 days before installation | [47] |
| UST notification on Form CN-1260 | Within 30 days | [48] |
The bottlenecks that recur in Tennessee:
- A stream or wetland found late: stormwater coverage waits on the ARAP or 401 decision [4].
- The state Highway Entrance Permit filed after local approval, with a traffic impact study added during TDOT's initial review [10, 11].
- SWPPP gaps on impaired or exceptional waters, where the preparer needs EPSC Level II and controls are designed for the 5-year, 24-hour storm [29].
- Karst in Middle Tennessee: closed depressions and sinkholes regulated in codes such as Murfreesboro's [12].
- Utility capacity: Franklin requires a Water/Sewer Availability Determination with the site plan [41], Metro Water Services requires a capacity study or permit with an SP final site plan [31], and Murfreesboro has held building permits for sewer upgrades [39].
Proof points
- Buc-ee's, Murfreesboro. Broke ground October 14, 2025 at I-24 and Joe B Jackson Parkway, its fourth Tennessee location: a 74,000 sq ft store with 120 fuel pumps on a 46-acre site bought in 2022 for $4.65M [54].
- Buc-ee's, Gallaway. A 28-acre site at I-40 Exit 28 in Fayette County broke ground in November 2024 [55].
- Murfreesboro hotels. A 65,000 sq ft, 4-story Fairfield by Marriott on 2.69 acres, zoned MU and GDO-1, cleared initial design review 5-0 on December 18, 2024 [56]; a 124-room, 5-story hotel zoned CH and GDO-1 cleared initial design review 6-0 on July 15, 2026 [57].
- Chattanooga hotels. Caption by Hyatt Chattanooga Downtown, 123 rooms, opened at the end of March 2026, and the 184-room, $54M Embassy Suites downtown opened in September 2025 [58].
- Car washes, Nashville. The RipTide Car Wash opened its 20th location on Old Hickory Boulevard, one of six new Tennessee openings in 2025 [59]; Cheetah Clean opened its 13th location on West End Avenue in August 2025 [60].
- Outdoor hospitality. Streamside RV Resorts & Campgrounds acquired Little Arrow Outdoor Resort and Little Arrow Base Camp RV Park in Townsend, near the Great Smokies, its 38th and 39th properties [61].
- A proposed marina on Norris Lake. Tennessee Vues Marina on Norris Reservoir, Claiborne County, proposes 1,216 boat slips as part of a planned 300-home community. TVA took public comment through December 22, 2025 on a Section 26a permit and 30-year easement, and the marina is not yet approved or built [62].
- Growth. Davidson County posted Tennessee's largest population gain in 2025, 9,821 people (1.3%) from July 1, 2024 to July 1, 2025, ahead of Rutherford (+6,266) and Wilson (+4,693) [63]. The state added 63,785 residents in 2025 after a record single-year gain of more than 98,200 in 2024, and 81 of 95 counties gained population [64].
What the preliminary plan carries in Tennessee
A preliminary site plan from the studio is a detailed first draft of the project without the engineering layer: site layout, buildings and floor plans, amenities, internal roads and drive aisles, parking, pads, sites and units, and the yield, organized with a site data table. In Tennessee the table carries the rows reviewers check first:
- building stories and gross area against the T.C.A. 62-2-102(b) line of 3 stories and 5,000 sq ft, so the architect or engineer of record is engaged where the statute requires one [1];
- disturbed acreage against the 1 acre Construction General Permit threshold [2];
- streams, wetlands, sinkholes and closed depressions, drawn as constraints [3, 12];
- frontage on a state route, which brings the TDOT Highway Entrance Permit [10];
- for RV parks, the site count against the state fee bands and the 15 ft unit spacing of the July 2002 rule text [43, 5];
- in Murfreesboro, the site data table the due diligence meeting asks for [25].
The plans are preliminary. Grading, drainage and utility design, the SWPPP and erosion controls, the traffic impact study and the sealed plat come from the client's engineer and surveyor of record, who prepare the sealed set on top of the preliminary plan. The plan goes to the county or city at concept and pre-application (see where unsealed site plans are accepted), to a lender, to a general contractor to price, and to the architect and engineer of record. The preliminary versus final site plan guide shows where the handoff falls, and the site plan consultant and site plan services pages describe the work. For marina permitting beyond the TVA layer, see the marina permitting stack.
Neighboring state pages: Virginia, North Carolina, Georgia, Mississippi and Missouri. Every covered state is listed under service areas, and the model projects under case studies.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need an architect or engineer to prepare a commercial site plan in Tennessee?
Not always. Plans for business, mercantile, storage, industrial or residential structures under 3 stories and under 5,000 sq ft gross may be prepared by a non-licensee; above that, an architect or engineer must prepare and seal them (T.C.A. 62-2-102(b)) [1]. Metro Nashville requires a licensed Tennessee land surveyor or engineer to seal all site plans [28].
Who has to seal a subdivision plat before recording?
A registered land surveyor or registered engineer. The register of deeds may not record a plat without the seal and signature (T.C.A. 66-24-116) [26].
When do I need a stormwater permit?
What if my site touches a stream or wetland?
Do I need a state permit for my driveway?
Yes, if it connects to a state highway. TDOT requires a Highway Entrance Permit before construction, including for a change of use of an existing driveway [10].
Do I need a permit for a dock or marina on a TVA lake?
Can my city ban short-term rentals?
Sources
- 1)T.C.A. 62-2-102, plans and specifications reserved to registered architects and engineers (law.justia.com), State of Tennessee (via Justia). Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 2)Construction General Permit TNR100000 (tnepsc.org), Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 3)Aquatic Resource Alteration Permit (ARAP) (tn.gov), Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 4)Tennessee Section 401 certification case study (nawm.org), nawm.org. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 5)Rule 1200-01-05, Organized Camps (July 2002 revision), Tennessee Department of Health. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 6)Application fees (franklintn.gov), City of Franklin. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 7)Tennessee Code 62-2-306, seals, State of Tennessee (via FindLaw). Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 8)NPDES Stormwater Construction Permit, Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 9)Notice of Intent form CN-0940, Construction General Permit, Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 10)2016 Driveway Rules Manual (tn.gov), Tennessee Department of Transportation. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 11)Highway Entrance Permits (tn.gov), Tennessee Department of Transportation. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 12)Stormwater Management Code (murfreesborotn.gov), City of Murfreesboro. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 13)Scientific Investigations Report on sinkhole flooding in Murfreesboro and Rutherford County (pubs.usgs.gov), U.S. Geological Survey. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 14)Stormwater (rutherfordcountytn.gov), Rutherford County. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 15)Memphis Earthquake Hazard Mapping Project (usgs.gov), U.S. Geological Survey. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 16)Section 26a regulations, shoreline construction permits (tva.com), Tennessee Valley Authority. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 17)Shoreline Construction (tva.gov), Tennessee Valley Authority. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 18)Subdivision Regulations, Local Planning Assistance Office training document (planning-org-uploaded-media.s3.amazonaws.com), Tennessee Local Planning Assistance Office. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 19)T.C.A. 13-3-413, site plan review powers (law.justia.com), State of Tennessee (via Justia). Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 20)Municipal Planning Commissions, mandatory referral (mtas.tennessee.edu), UT MTAS. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 21)Specific rules for plats (ctas.tennessee.edu), UT CTAS. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 22)Planning Commission (nashville.gov), Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 23)10 simple questions about code adoption (mtas.tennessee.edu); code adoption history (tn.gov), UT MTAS; Tennessee State Fire Marshal's Office. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 24)Statewide building standards (mtas.tennessee.edu), UT MTAS. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 25)Current Planning, City of Murfreesboro. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 26)T.C.A. 66-24-116, recording of maps, plats and surveys (law.justia.com), State of Tennessee (via Justia). Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 27)Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0820-03-.06, land surveying standards of practice (law.cornell.edu), State of Tennessee (via Cornell LII). Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 28)Metro Drawing Requirements for Permits, Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 29)Construction General Permit stormwater fact sheet (lewisburgtn.gov), City of Lewisburg (lewisburgtn.gov). Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 30)ARAP compensatory mitigation (tn.gov), Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 31)Specific Plan Application, Metro Nashville Planning Department. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 32)Apply for Electronic Submission of Project Plans Review, Metro Nashville Codes. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 33)Subdivision Regulations (nashville.gov), Metro Nashville Planning Department. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 34)Planning and Zoning (williamsoncounty-tn.gov), Williamson County. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 35)Planning Commission, City of Murfreesboro. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 36)Chart 1, Land Uses Permitted by Zoning District, with the Section 7 site plan trigger (2019 edition), City of Murfreesboro. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 37)Pigeon Forge Zoning Ordinance, updated through July 2023, City of Pigeon Forge. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 38)Current Planning Process, City of Murfreesboro. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 39)Planning Commission agenda, March 2, 2022, City of Murfreesboro. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 40)Development review (franklintn.gov), City of Franklin. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 41)Application user guide: site plan (franklintn.gov), City of Franklin. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 42)Metropolitan Council agenda, October 9, 2025, Metropolitan Council, Nashville and Davidson County. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 43)T.C.A. 68-110-103, organized camp permits and fees, State of Tennessee (via Justia). Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 44)Environmental Health, Tennessee Department of Health. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 45)Underground storage tanks, Rules 0400-18 (cleanairtn.org), cleanairtn.org. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 46)40 CFR Part 282, Approved Underground Storage Tank Programs, eCFR. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 47)Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0400-18-01-.03, notification (law.cornell.edu), State of Tennessee (via Cornell LII). Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 48)UST notification, Form CN-1260 (cleanairtn.org), cleanairtn.org. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 49)Summary of the Short-Term Rental Unit Act (mtas.tennessee.edu), UT MTAS. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 50)T.C.A. 13-7-603 (law.justia.com), State of Tennessee (via Justia). Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 51)Ordinance 24-O-40 amending the Murfreesboro City Code (Chart 1), City of Murfreesboro. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 52)Self storage development and zoning activity, October 2025 (insideselfstorage.com), Inside Self Storage. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 53)New campsite pipeline reporting (rvbusiness.com), RV Business. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 54)Buc-ee's to break ground in Murfreesboro, Tennessee (cspdailynews.com), CSP Daily News. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 55)Reporting on the West Memphis and Gallaway Buc-ee's locations (localmemphis.com), Local Memphis. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 56)Planning Commission minutes, December 18, 2024, City of Murfreesboro. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 57)Planning Commission minutes, July 15, 2026, City of Murfreesboro. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 58)Reporting on the Caption by Hyatt and Embassy Suites openings in downtown Chattanooga (hoteldive.com), Hotel Dive. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 59)The RipTide Car Wash opens location on Nashville's Old Hickory Boulevard (carwash.org), carwash.org. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 60)Cheetah Clean opening announcement (businesswire.com), Business Wire. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 61)Streamside adds two Tennessee resorts to outdoor hospitality portfolio (shorttermrentalz.com), Short Term Rentalz. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 62)TVA seeks input on proposed Norris Lake marina for planned luxury community (wate.com), WATE. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 63)Davidson holds as Tennessee's fastest-growing county (tnsdc.utk.edu), Tennessee State Data Center. Accessed 2026-08-02.
- 64)Tennessee's biggest growth story may be Cookeville (ttc.tml1.org), ttc.tml1.org. Accessed 2026-08-02.