The short answer
How much land a storage facility needs depends first on the product. Trade press puts a self storage site at 3 to 5 acres and an RV and boat storage site at 7 to 10 acres (industry benchmark, not code) [1]. For RV and boat storage, trade sources put building coverage at 35% to 40% of the parcel (industry benchmark, not code) [5]. Those are rules of thumb, not limits.
Codes and approvals give the firm numbers. Apex, North Carolina sets a 3 acre minimum lot for self storage and grants "No variance or other relief" from it, and Raleigh requires a 2 acre site for self storage in its CX district [2, 7]. Recorded approvals show how far a multistory building compresses the land: Nashville's 2024SP-035-001 allows one building of up to three stories and 112,000 SF on 2.12 acres, and Fuquay-Varina's REZ-2024-08 is a three-story, 119,175 SF building with 24 parking spaces on 4.52 acres [3, 4, 8]. A drive-up program spreads the same building area over more ground, and an RV and boat yard spreads further, because most of its land is stall and aisle.
The sections below give the dimensions behind those numbers: recorded sites by building type, the self storage building rules, RV and boat stall and aisle sizes, and the other items that take the acre.
Recorded sites by building type
| Project | Building type | Building | Site | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nashville, TN, 2024SP-035-001 | Multistory, one building | Up to three stories and 112,000 SF; 4 parking spaces required, 13 provided | 2.12 acres | [3] |
| Matthews, NC, 2022-763 (staff report, October 2022) | Multistory climate controlled | 99,000 SF | 1.5 acres | [9] |
| Fuquay-Varina, NC, REZ-2024-08 | Multistory climate controlled | Three stories, 119,175 SF, 24 parking spaces | 4.52 acres (4.94 acres rezoned, 5.451 acres annexed) | [4, 8] |
| Indian Trail, NC, Plyler Self-Storage 2019-0090 | Multistory | Three floors of 33,210 SF | 4.0 acres | [10] |
| Fuquay-Varina, NC, Imperial Self Storage | Not stated | 37,700 SF | 4.98 acres | [11] |
| Fuquay-Varina, NC, Infinite Self Storage | One-story and two-story | 17,250 SF one-story plus 90,547 SF two-story | 14.70 acres, 25% left undisturbed by condition | [12] |
| Roseville, CA, 5750 Baseline Road | Storage buildings plus RV and boat stalls | 226,149 SF of storage buildings; 94 RV and boat stalls in Phase 1, later to be replaced by storage buildings | Not stated | [13] |
| Near Conroe, TX, Cornerstone RV and Boat Storage | RV and boat storage | Concrete and asphalt paving, a detention pond, an office and 17 storage buildings | 319,181 sq ft registered | [14] |
| Maricopa County, AZ, approved site plan | RV and boat storage | 12 canopy rows, about 192 covered spaces | Not stated | [15] |
Apex's recent rezonings that included storage show the same range on the ground. They covered 3.08 acres (21CZ20), 4.6 acres (21CZ17) and 6.92 acres (22CZ15), and a 9.09 acre case (21CZ05) was withdrawn [16, 17, 18, 19].
Building area per acre of site is the studio's arithmetic on the recorded figures, not a sourced number: about 52,800 SF per acre for Nashville's 112,000 SF on 2.12 acres, about 66,000 SF per acre for Matthews' 99,000 SF on 1.5 acres, about 26,400 SF per acre for Fuquay-Varina's 119,175 SF on 4.52 acres, and about 7,600 SF per acre for Imperial's 37,700 SF on 4.98 acres [3, 9, 4, 11]. The Cornerstone registration's 319,181 sq ft is about 7.3 acres, inside the 7 to 10 acre trade press band for RV and boat storage (studio arithmetic; the band is an industry benchmark, not code) [14, 1].
Self storage building dimensions
Among the codes cited here, Apex, North Carolina codifies the fullest numeric envelope, in UDO Sec. 4.4.5.G.14 [2]. It shows which dimensions a self storage code can fix:
| Dimension | Value | Code or record |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum lot | 3 acres, no variance [2] | Apex Sec. 4.4.5.G.14.f |
| Maximum height | 24 ft; 30 ft combined with a parapet [2] | Apex Sec. 4.4.5.G.14.j |
| Maximum storage bay | 900 SF [2] | Apex Sec. 4.4.5.G.14.i |
| Separation between buildings | 10 ft minimum [2] | Apex Sec. 4.4.5.G.14.h |
| Drive aisles | 21 ft one-way, 30 ft two-way [2] | Apex Sec. 4.4.5.G.14.k(i) |
| Open RV and boat storage at the facility | No more than 25% of buildable area, screened [2] | Apex Sec. 4.4.5.G.14.e |
| Storage in the Tech/Flex district | No more than 60% of overall site acreage, behind other uses [2] | Apex Sec. 4.4.5.G.14.p |
| Height and bays by condition | Height to 48 ft; bays up to 4,000 SF for vehicle storage condos [18] | Apex Ordinance 22CZ15 |
| Minimum site in the CX district | 2 acres [7] | Raleigh UDO Sec. 6.5.5 |
The aisle doubles as the loading dock. Apex's text: "Interior parking shall be provided in the form of aisleways adjacent to the storage bays. These aisleways shall be used both for circulation and temporary customer parking while using storage bays" [2]. Parking fields stay small in the record: Nashville's SP required 4 spaces and the plan provided 13 for a 112,000 SF building, Fuquay-Varina's REZ-2024-08 shows 24 spaces for 119,175 SF, and Apex's 22CZ15 counted the internal parking in each vehicle storage unit as 2 spaces [3, 4, 18].
The fire code sets the other building dimensions. Sprinklers are required where a Group S-1 fire area exceeds 12,000 SF, where a fire area sits more than three stories above grade, or where combined S-1 fire areas exceed 24,000 SF (IFC 903.2.9) [20]. ICC Interpretation 20-14 applied the upholstered furniture rule to self storage, and the 2021 edition exempts one-story facilities with exterior access, an exception that applies only where the 2021 IFC or later is adopted [21]. Fire apparatus access roads must reach within 150 ft of all exterior walls (IFC 503.1.1), at 20 ft wide with 13 ft 6 in of vertical clearance (IFC 503.2.1), and 26 ft wide for aerial or hydrant roads under Appendix D [22, 23, 24]. On a drive-up site, the 12,000 SF fire area and the 150 ft reach between them shape how long each building row can run and where the access loop goes.
RV and boat storage dimensions
No code cited here sets RV or boat stall sizes. The numbers below are trade press and operator figures, and the largest vehicle on the rent roll confirms or overrides them.
| Dimension | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Stall width | 12 ft minimum, 14 ft preferred, for 8 ft 6 in vehicles (industry benchmark, not code) | Modern Storage Media [6] |
| Stall range | 12 to 16 ft wide, 30 to 50 ft deep (industry benchmark, not code) | Oakside, operator blog [25] |
| Canopy module | 12 ft stalls with posts about every 24 ft; 12x40 average stall (industry benchmark, not code) | Inside Self Storage [1] |
| Canopy clearance | Minimum 14 ft structural clearance (industry benchmark, not code) | Modern Storage Media [6] |
| Drive aisles | 45 ft for angled canopies and 50 ft for enclosed units (industry benchmark, not code) | Inside Self Storage [1] |
| Aisle for 50 ft rigs parked at 90 degrees | About 65 ft (forum, secondary; industry benchmark, not code) | Self-Storage Talk [26] |
| Straightening distance | About 75 ft of aisle for a 50 ft rig (industry benchmark, not code) | Oakside [25] |
| Enclosed unit door | 10 to 12 ft wide is safe, often 14 ft (industry benchmark, not code) | Inside Self Storage [27] |
| Covered stalls marketed near Conroe, TX | 14 x 30, 15 x 40 and 15 x 45 ft (operator listing; industry benchmark, not code) | [28] |
| Largest units marketed near Conroe, TX | 14x90 (operator listing; industry benchmark, not code) | [29] |
| Circulation | Design for left-hand turns, with angled stalls (industry benchmark, not code) | Modern Storage Media [6] |
| Security | Perimeter buildings provide security without added fence cost (industry benchmark, not code) | Modern Storage Media [6] |
The stall and the aisle together set the land per stall. With a 12x40 average stall on each side of a 45 ft angled-canopy aisle (industry benchmark, not code), one 12 ft bay of a double-loaded row takes 12 ft by 125 ft, or about 750 sq ft per stall, before fire lanes, buffers, detention, the gate and the office are drawn (studio arithmetic) [1]. Where an aisle also serves as a fire apparatus road, the code floor of 20 ft wide and 13 ft 6 in overhead governs any canopy eave over it, and the benchmark aisle is already wider than that floor [23, 1]. No source cited here gives separate stall dimensions for boat trailers or fifth wheels.
What else takes the acre
The building and the stall rows are only part of the parcel. The rest of the land goes to items that codes and conditions fix:
| Item | Rule or record | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Building coverage, RV and boat storage | 35% to 40% of the parcel (industry benchmark, not code) | [5] |
| Open storage cap, Apex | Open RV and boat storage no more than 25% of buildable area, entirely screened | [2] |
| Open storage cap, Kansas City, MO | RV storage as an accessory use to self storage, capped at 25 percent | [30] |
| Undisturbed land, Fuquay-Varina (Infinite, by condition) | 25% of the site left undisturbed; Type A buffers of 50 ft south and 40 ft east | [12] |
| Layered buffer, Fuquay-Varina (Imperial, by condition) | 20 ft of existing vegetation plus 10 ft of new planting, with 12 ft opaque evergreen screening at installation | [11] |
| Fence in the buffer, Fuquay-Varina (REZ-2024-08) | A privacy fence at least 6' tall, at grade or on a berm within the required buffer | [8] |
| Future right-of-way, Fuquay-Varina | 110 ft on Ten Ten Road under the 2035 CTP, four-lane divided with sidepaths | [31] |
| Frontage improvements, Fuquay-Varina | "Street frontage improvements must be located in the first phase of development" | [32] |
| Drainage plan, Montgomery County, TX | Required past 15,000 sq ft of covered area on the entire property, parking included | [33] |
| Gravel, Montgomery County, TX | Runoff coefficient 0.85, the same as concrete and asphalt | [34] |
| Peak flow, Montgomery County, TX | No increase in peak flow leaving the project | [34] |
Two of these act directly on the land budget. A buffer that a condition widens, such as Infinite's 50 ft and 40 ft Type A buffers, comes straight off the developable area [12]. And where gravel counts as pavement for runoff, as it does in Montgomery County's drainage manual, a gravel yard needs the same detention as a paved one, so the detention area is drawn at full size whatever the surface [34].
From the numbers to a plan
A trade press acreage band answers whether a parcel is worth a look; a drawn layout answers how many units or stalls it holds. A preliminary site plan puts the building or stall rows, the aisles at their benchmark or code widths, the fire access loop, the buffers and the detention reserve on the actual parcel, with a site data table that states acreage against the minimum lot, building area, height against the cap, aisle widths and any open storage share. The plan is preliminary; grading, drainage and utility design are by the client's engineer of record, who builds the sealed set on it.
For the building side, start at the self storage site plan hub, with its door, frontage and approval-path tables, and the North Carolina self storage page. The model projects in Apex and Fuquay-Varina work the North Carolina rules into full site plans. For yards, the RV and boat storage site plan hub carries the fire lane, canopy and classification tables, the boat storage site plan hub covers boat-only and dry stack sites, and RV and boat storage in Texas and the Montgomery County model project show an unzoned county's permit path. Outdoor truck and equipment yards are covered on the industrial outdoor storage hub. The posts on site planning best practices for RV storage and the acre test take the land question further, and where unsealed site plans are accepted sets out which stages take a concept plan. To test a parcel, start a project.
Frequently asked questions
How much land do you need for a self storage facility?
Trade press puts it at 3 to 5 acres (industry benchmark, not code) [1]. Codes set floors, such as Apex, North Carolina's 3 acre minimum lot with no variance and Raleigh's 2 acres in its CX district [2, 7]. Multistory buildings use less: 112,000 SF on 2.12 acres in Nashville and 119,175 SF on 4.52 acres in Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina [3, 4].
How much land does RV and boat storage need?
What size is an RV storage space?
How wide are self storage and RV storage drive aisles?
How big can a self storage unit be?
When does a storage building need sprinklers?
Sources
- 1)Building Boat/RV Storage: Site Selection, Design, Types and More, Inside Self Storage. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 2)Apex Unified Development Ordinance, Article 4, Sec. 4.4 Supplemental Standards (edition dated September 24, 2024), Town of Apex, North Carolina. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 3)Planning Commission minutes, September 12, 2024, item 2024SP-035-001, Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County, Tennessee. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 4)Fuquay-Varina Climate Storage (project page), Town of Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 5)Boat/RV Storage: Site Selection, Design and More, Inside Self Storage. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 6)RV and Boat Storage Facility Design, Modern Storage Media. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 7)Raleigh Unified Development Ordinance Sec. 6.5.5, Self-Service Storage, City of Raleigh, North Carolina. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 8)Town Board minutes, August 5, 2024 (REZ-2024-08), Town of Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 9)Application 2022-763 Staff Report, Council Place Self-Storage, Change in Zoning (October 2022), Town of Matthews, North Carolina. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 10)Plyler Self-Storage (development project page), Town of Indian Trail, North Carolina. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 11)Imperial Self Storage (development project page), Town of Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 12)Infinite Self Storage (development project page), Town of Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 13)Planning Division Staff Report, Planning Commission Meeting February 25, 2021 (5750 Baseline Road), City of Roseville, California. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 14)TABS registration TABS2024016817, Cornerstone RV and Boat Storage, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 15)Report to the Board of Supervisors, Z2020049 (January 25, 2023), Maricopa County, Arizona. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 16)Regular Town Council Meeting, December 14, 2021 (21CZ20), Town of Apex, North Carolina. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 17)Staff report, rezoning application 21CZ17 (Ten Ten Business Park), Town of Apex, North Carolina. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 18)Ordinance Amending the Zoning Map, Application 22CZ15 (1720 and 1740 Pinnacle Center Dr), Town of Apex, North Carolina. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 19)Regular Town Council Meeting, July 27, 2021 (21CZ05), Town of Apex, North Carolina (Municode Meetings). Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 20)2021 South Carolina Fire Code (based on the 2021 IFC), Sec. 903.2.9 Group S-1, International Code Council. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 21)Code interpretation, International Building Code Chapter 9, Fire Protection Systems (Interpretation 20-14), International Code Council. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 22)International Fire Code Sec. 503.1.1, where fire apparatus access roads are required (ICC model code; read via a California Fire Code mirror), GoCodebook. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 23)2021 International Fire Code, Chapter 5, Fire Service Features (Sec. 503.2.1), International Code Council. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 24)International Fire Code Sec. 503.2.1 and Appendix D, minimum dimensions and clearances (ICC model code; read via a California Fire Code mirror), GoCodebook. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 25)Self-Storage vs. Boat/RV Storage: Space Management, Oakside (operator blog). Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 26)RV/Boat Storage Spaces/Acre and Construction Costs (forum thread), Self-Storage Talk. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 27)The Fine Points of Boat/RV Storage, Inside Self Storage. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 28)Conroe Lakeside RV and Boat Storage (member listing), Conroe/Lake Conroe Chamber of Commerce. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 29)Conroe, TX, Boat and RV Storage (unit listing), Copper Safe Storage. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 30)Kansas City Zoning and Development Code 88-369, Self-Storage Warehouse (City of Kansas City, Missouri, via Municode), City of Kansas City, Missouri. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 31)REZ-2024-08 staff abstract (Fuquay-Varina Climate Storage), Town of Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 32)Site Plan Submittal Checklist (rev. July 2025), Town of Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 33)Montgomery County Development Permit Procedures, Commercial Permit Application Packet (July 2, 2024), Montgomery County, Texas. Accessed 2026-10-09.
- 34)Drainage Criteria Manual (adopted August 26, 2025), Montgomery County, Texas. Accessed 2026-10-10.
How these sources were chosen and when the page is reviewed: how we research.