Look up the parking rule
How this works
A parking minimum is the number of off-street spaces a city's zoning code requires for a use, written as a ratio: so many spaces per guest room, per dwelling unit, per campsite or per 1,000 sq ft of floor area. Phoenix's code says it plainly: its Sec. 702.C table states ratios that are "the minimum level of parking required" [1]. A preliminary site plan carries that figure in its site data table, as parking required against parking provided.
Choose the city and the use, and the lookup asks only for the quantity that city's rule counts. Houston counts general retail at 4.0 per 1,000 SF GFA under Sec. 26-492 [2], so the lookup asks for gross floor area. Los Angeles counts a hotel by its guest rooms: 1 per guest room for the first 30, 1 per 2 rooms from 31 to 60 and 1 per 3 rooms above 60 [3]. Tucson counts an RV park or campground at 1 per campsite [4], and Michigan's campground rules require 1.5 spaces per site, on sites or in a separate lot, for all campgrounds under R 325.1558(2) [5]. The retail and hotel site plan pages show how these counts shape a layout.
How the rules combine
A city's rule is often several rows, and the lookup applies them the way the code joins them. Where the code writes a ladder of first, then and above, each band's ratio applies only to the part of the quantity inside it: Milwaukee requires 1 per 500 sq ft for the first 2,000 sq ft GFA of a general office, then 1 per 1,000 sq ft above 2,000 [6]. Los Angeles counts a warehouse the same way, at 1 per 500 SF for the first 10,000 SF, then 1 per 5,000 SF above 10,000 SF [3].
Where the code says "whichever is greater", the lookup computes both and keeps the larger: a Fort Worth industrial use needs 2 per 1,000 SF GFA or 1 per 3 employees, whichever is greater [7]. Where a part is added, it is added: Phoenix self storage needs 1 per 35 storage units plus 2 for the manager's apartment [1]. Where the code sets a floor, the total never falls below it: a Fort Worth warehouse needs 1 per 4 employees, with 4 at minimum [7].
Two kinds of rule are shown as the code states them and not computed. Houston's hotel tiers read 1.0 per sleeping room up to 250, 0.75 per room from 251 to 500 and 0.50 per room over 500 [2], and whether each tier applies to every room or only to the rooms inside it is not verified in our research. Houston's general office reads 2.5 per 1,000 SF GFA or 2.75 per 1,000 SF UFA [2]: the lookup computes both and does not choose between them.
No row states how a code rounds a fraction of a space, so the lookup shows each figure unrounded, to two decimal places at most.
Maximums
A maximum caps the parking a site may build. Milwaukee caps general retail at 3.5 per 1,000 sq ft GFA, with exceptions under 295-403-2-d, against a minimum of 1 per 1,000 sq ft GFA [6]. Fort Worth caps every use at 125% of the minimum, with more allowed by planting one extra tree per 10 additional spaces [7]. San Diego caps downtown multifamily at 1.0 per unit under SDMC 142.0528 [8]. Where no maximum is verified in our research, the lookup states none. The multifamily site plan page covers how a cap changes a surface lot or a garage.
Where the site is
Many codes lift the minimum by location, so the lookup asks where the site is before it reads a ratio. Milwaukee requires no off-street motor vehicle parking for uses in downtown zoning districts, except within the C9A district, and no minimum applies in RED redevelopment districts [6]. A 25% reduction applies inside the area bounded by Capitol Drive, Lincoln Avenue, Lake Michigan and 43rd Street/Sherman Boulevard, within 1,000 ft of a local bus stop, or within 1,320 ft of a BRT station [6]; the lookup states that reduction and does not apply it. The Wisconsin page sets out the wider approval path.
Fort Worth applies its minimums only to uses on residentially zoned property or within 250 feet of one- or two-family zoned property, and for all other uses no minimum parking spaces shall be required [7]. Its "H" Central Business district requires no off-street parking [9]. Dallas removed mandates in three separate cases: downtown, within 0.5 mile of light rail and streetcar stations, and for historically designated properties wherever they stand [10]; the lookup asks about each one on its own. New York requires no multifamily parking in the Inner Transit Zone, the Manhattan Core and Long Island City [11]. Seattle sets no minimum for non-residential uses in urban centers and the Station Area Overlay, and in urban villages within frequent transit, hospitals excepted [12]. In San Antonio, IDZ-1 and the IDZ overlay have no minimums, and IDZ-2 and IDZ-3 may reduce by 50% [13].
Each answer can be yes, no or not sure. With not sure, the lookup shows both readings: the area rule inside the area, and the city's ratio outside it.
State laws over local codes
California's Gov. Code 65863.2, from AB 2097 and effective Jan 1, 2023, reads: "A public agency shall not impose or enforce any minimum automobile parking requirement on a residential, commercial, or other development project if the project is located within one-half mile of public transit" [14]. The law does not override EV-charging or accessible-space requirements [14]. The lookup asks the transit question in every California city it holds, except for a hotel: whether the law reaches hotels is not verified in our research, so a California hotel result shows the city's own minimum and says the transit rule is not verified for that use. The California RV park page covers the state's other site rules.
Colorado's HB24-1304, with state law effective June 30, 2025, controls for qualifying multifamily projects in DOLA-mapped transit service areas, whatever the local code says [15]. The lookup asks that question for multifamily in Colorado cities, and the statute's large-project exception is not verified in our research. The Colorado page and the guide to multifamily parking reform cover the rest of the state picture.
Cities with no minimum
Six cities in the lookup have no minimum citywide. Austin's Title 25, as amended by Ord. 20231102-028, passed Nov 2, 2023, sets no minimum for any of the uses in the lookup [16]. Portland's Title 33, as amended by Ord. 191310, took effect Jun 30, 2023 [17]. Denver's change took effect Aug 11, 2025, and minimum bicycle and ADA parking still apply [18]. Raleigh adopted TC-11-21, "Parking Minimums, Maximums, and Mitigations", on March 15, 2022 [19]. Sacramento's City Code 17.608.030 states: "There are no minimum off-street vehicle parking requirements for any land use" [20]. Baltimore's Council Bill 25-0065, Enactment No. 25-064, signed Nov. 3, 2025, repealed the minimums per use type [21].
In these cities the maximums are not verified in our research, so the lookup shows the no-minimum rule, its date where the row carries one, and the accessible-parking note where the row verifies it.
The rules in the lookup
174 verified rule values for 22 jurisdictions, each cited to the code, ordinance or statute it comes from, as researched on October 11, 2026. A ratio is stored exactly as the code writes it; the lookup does the arithmetic.
Cities with no minimum citywide
| City | Minimum, as the code states it | In effect | Accessible parking | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austin, Texas | None[16] | No date in the verified row | Not verified in our research | Title 25 as amended by Ord. 20231102-028 |
| Baltimore, Maryland | Minimums per use type repealed[21] | No date in the verified row | Not verified in our research | City Council Bill 25-0065, Enactment No. 25-064 |
| Denver, Colorado | None[18] | From August 11, 2025 | minimum bicycle and ADA parking still apply[18] | Denver Zoning Code "Modernizing Parking Requirements" text amendment |
| Portland, Oregon | None[17] | No date in the verified row | Not verified in our research | Title 33, Chapter 33.266 |
| Raleigh, North Carolina | None[19] | No date in the verified row | Not verified in our research | TC-11-21 (Parking Minimums, Maximums, and Mitigations) |
| Sacramento, California | no minimum[20] | No date in the verified row | Not verified in our research | City Code 17.608.030 |
Maximums in these cities are not verified in our research, so the lookup states none.
Ratios by city
Each table lists every verified row for the city, in the code's own words: the use, how the row combines with the others of its rule, the ratio as stored, the unit, the condition and the section. Below each table are the mapped areas the lookup asks about.
Charlotte, North Carolina
- Is the site in this area Tier 3 districts (exceptions for listed uses near Neighborhood 1). If yes: no minimum. Every use; UDO Article 19, Table 19-1[23]
Minimum not verified in our research for: Hotel or motel; Multifamily; General retail; Sit-down restaurant; Drive-through restaurant; General office; Warehouse or industrial; Self storage; Car wash; Gas station with convenience store; RV park or campground; Assisted living.
Dallas, Texas
| Use | Rule | Ratio as stored | Unit | Condition | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| General retail | Minimum: Ratio | None | most retail | Chapters 51 and 51A, as amended May 14, 2025[10] | |
| General office | Minimum: Ratio | None | Chapters 51 and 51A, as amended May 14, 2025[22] |
- Is the site in this area downtown. If yes: removed mandates. Every use; Chapters 51 and 51A[10]
- Is the site in this area within 0.5 mile of light rail and streetcar stations. If yes: removed mandates. Every use; Chapters 51 and 51A[10]
- Is the site in this area historically designated properties (if the property is historically designated (a status of the property, not an area)). If yes: removed mandates. Every use; Chapters 51 and 51A[10]
Minimum not verified in our research for: Hotel or motel; Multifamily; Sit-down restaurant; Drive-through restaurant; Warehouse or industrial; Self storage; Car wash; Gas station with convenience store; RV park or campground; Assisted living.
Fort Worth, Texas
| Use | Rule | Ratio as stored | Unit | Condition | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per bedroom unit | Hotel | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] |
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Plus | 1 | per 4 patron seats in public rooms | Hotel | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] |
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Plus | 5 | per 1,000 SF display/ballroom | Hotel | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per bedroom | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] | |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Plus | 1 | per 250 SF common, office and recreation area | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] | |
| General retail | Minimum: Ratio | 4 | per 1,000 SF | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] | |
| General retail | Minimum: Reduction | 25% | for conversion from a more restricted use | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] | |
| Sit-down restaurant | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 100 SF | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] | |
| General office | Minimum: Ratio | 2.5 | per 1,000 SF GFA | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] | |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 4 employees | Warehouse | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: At least | 4 | spaces | Warehouse | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Greater of | 2 | per 1,000 SF GFA | industrial | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Greater of | 1 | per 3 employees | industrial | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] |
| Assisted living | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per doctor | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] | |
| Assisted living | Minimum: Plus | 1 | per 4 employees | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] | |
| Assisted living | Minimum: Plus | 4 | per 1,000 SF GFA | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201[7] | |
| Every use | Maximum: Ratio | 125% | of the minimum | more allowed by planting one extra tree per 10 additional spaces | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201(b)(2)[7] |
- Minimums apply only to uses on residentially zoned property or within 250 feet of one- or two-family zoned property. For every other site: for all other uses, no minimum parking spaces shall be required. Every use; Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201(b)(1)[7]
- Is the site in this area "H" Central Business district. If yes: no off-street parking required. Every use; Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.200(d)[9]
Minimum not verified in our research for: Drive-through restaurant; Self storage; Car wash; Gas station with convenience store; RV park or campground.
Houston, Texas
| Use | Rule | Ratio as stored | Unit | Condition | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio, a tier (the ladder is not stated) | 1.0 | per sleeping room | rooms up to 250 | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 2(f)[2] |
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio, a tier (the ladder is not stated) | 0.75 | per room | rooms 251 to 500 | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 2(f)[2] |
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio, a tier (the ladder is not stated) | 0.50 | per room | rooms over 500 | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 2(f)[2] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 1.25 | per efficiency | efficiency unit | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 2(a)[2] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 1.333 | per 1-BR | 1-BR unit | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 2(a)[2] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 1.666 | per 2-BR | 2-BR unit | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 2(a)[2] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 2.0 | per 3+ BR unit | 3+ BR unit | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 2(a)[2] |
| General retail | Minimum: Ratio | 4.0 | per 1,000 SF GFA | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 8(c)[2] | |
| Sit-down restaurant | Minimum: Ratio | 10.0 | per 1,000 SF GFA plus patio area over 15% of GFA | restaurant other than a small or neighborhood restaurant | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 7(c) to (e)[2] |
| Sit-down restaurant | Minimum: Ratio | 8.0 | per 1,000 SF GFA | small restaurant | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 7(c) to (e)[2] |
| Sit-down restaurant | Minimum: Ratio | 9.0 | per 1,000 SF GFA | neighborhood restaurant | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 7(c) to (e)[2] |
| General office | Minimum: Ratio | 2.5 | per 1,000 SF GFA | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 1(a)[2] | |
| General office | Minimum: Or | 2.75 | per 1,000 SF UFA | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 1(a)[2] | |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio | 2.5 | per 1,000 SF office | Bulk warehouse | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 4[2] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Plus | 1.0 | per 7,000 SF warehouse | Bulk warehouse | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 4[2] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio | 1.0 | per 5,000 SF warehouse | multi-tenant at grade | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 4[2] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio | 1.0 | per 2,000 SF | heavy manufacturing | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 4[2] |
| Self storage | Minimum: Ratio | 1.0 | per 50 storage units or bays | mini-warehouse | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 4(g)[2] |
| Car wash | Minimum: Ratio | 2.5 | per bay or stall for stacking | Automated | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 9(c), (d)[2] |
| Car wash | Minimum: Ratio | 1.0 | per bay or stall | all other | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 9(c), (d)[2] |
| Gas station with convenience store | Minimum: Ratio | 3.0 | per service stall | Service station | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 9(e)[2] |
| Gas station with convenience store | Minimum: Plus | 1.0 | per employee on largest shift | Service station | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 9(e)[2] |
| RV park or campground | Minimum: Stated | not codified | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492[2] | ||
| Assisted living | Minimum: Ratio | 0.75 | per unit | Retirement community with kitchens | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 2(d), (e); Class 3(e)[2] |
| Assisted living | Minimum: Plus | 1.0 | per employee | Retirement community with kitchens | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 2(d), (e); Class 3(e)[2] |
| Assisted living | Minimum: Ratio | 1.0 | per 6 beds | Retirement community without kitchens | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 2(d), (e); Class 3(e)[2] |
| Assisted living | Minimum: Plus | 1.0 | per employee | Retirement community without kitchens | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 2(d), (e); Class 3(e)[2] |
| Assisted living | Minimum: Ratio | 1.0 | per 3 beds | nursing home | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 2(d), (e); Class 3(e)[2] |
| Assisted living | Minimum: Plus | 1.0 | per 4 employees | nursing home | Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492 Class 2(d), (e); Class 3(e)[2] |
Minimum not verified in our research for: Drive-through restaurant.
Keystone, Colorado
| Use | Rule | Ratio as stored | Unit | Condition | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio | 1.0 | per room | Hotel, motel or lodge | Keystone Fig. 3.7 Parking Requirements[25] |
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Plus | other uses | Hotel, motel or lodge | Keystone Fig. 3.7 Parking Requirements[25] | |
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio | 0.5 | per lodge room | lodge room | Keystone Fig. 3.7 Parking Requirements[25] |
Minimum not verified in our research for: Multifamily; General retail; Sit-down restaurant; Drive-through restaurant; General office; Warehouse or industrial; Self storage; Car wash; Gas station with convenience store; RV park or campground; Assisted living.
Los Angeles, California
| Use | Rule | Ratio as stored | Unit | Condition | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio, a band of a marginal ladder | 1 | per guest room | first 30 guest rooms | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(b)[3] |
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio, a band of a marginal ladder | 1 | per 2 rooms | rooms from 31 to 60 | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(b)[3] |
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio, a band of a marginal ladder | 1 | per 3 rooms | rooms above 60 | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(b)[3] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per unit | units under 3 habitable rooms | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(a)[3] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 1.5 | per unit | units of 3 rooms | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(a)[3] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 2 | per unit | units over 3 rooms | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(a)[3] |
| General retail | Minimum: Ratio | 4 | per 1,000 SF GFA | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(c)(5)[3] | |
| General retail | Minimum: Ratio | 2 | per 1,000 SF | in listed former redevelopment areas and Enterprise Zones | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(x)(3)[3] |
| Sit-down restaurant | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 100 SF GFA | Over 1,000 SF | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(c)(3), (c)(4)[3] |
| Sit-down restaurant | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 200 SF GFA | 1,000 SF or less | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(c)(3), (c)(4)[3] |
| General office | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 500 SF combined floor area | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(c)[3] | |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio, a band of a marginal ladder | 1 | per 500 SF | warehouse, first 10,000 SF | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(c)(1)[3] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio, a band of a marginal ladder | 1 | per 5,000 SF | warehouse, above 10,000 SF | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(c)(1)[3] |
| Assisted living | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per dwelling unit | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(d)(5)[3] | |
| Assisted living | Minimum: Or | 1 | per guest room | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(d)(5)[3] | |
| Assisted living | Minimum: Reduction | up to 50% | if 12.21 A.4(u) conditions met | LAMC Sec. 12.21 A.4(d)(5)[3] |
Minimum not verified in our research for: Drive-through restaurant; Self storage; Car wash; Gas station with convenience store; RV park or campground.
Michigan (statewide rule)
| Use | Rule | Ratio as stored | Unit | Condition | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RV park or campground | Minimum: Ratio | 1.5 | spaces per site | on sites or in a separate lot; all campgrounds | Mich. Admin. Code R 325.1558(2)[5] |
Minimum not verified in our research for: Hotel or motel; Multifamily; General retail; Sit-down restaurant; Drive-through restaurant; General office; Warehouse or industrial; Self storage; Car wash; Gas station with convenience store; Assisted living.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
| Use | Rule | Ratio as stored | Unit | Condition | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 1,000 sq ft GFA | Hotel, commercial (ground floor or above) | Table 295-403-2-a[6] |
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 2 sleeping rooms | Hotel, residential | Table 295-403-2-a[6] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 1:1 | ratio as written | RM1, RM2, RM3, RM4, RO1, NS1, LB1, RB1 | Code of Ordinances s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a[6] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 2:3 | ratio as written | RT4, RT5, RM5, RM6, RM7, RO2, NS2, LB2, LB3, RB2, CS, C9A, IM | Code of Ordinances s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a[6] |
| General retail | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 1,000 sq ft GFA | Code of Ordinances s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a[6] | |
| General retail | Maximum: Ratio | 3.5 | per 1,000 sq ft GFA | exceptions under 295-403-2-d | Code of Ordinances s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a[6] |
| Sit-down restaurant | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 1,000 sq ft GFA | See general retail establishment | Code of Ordinances s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a[6] |
| Sit-down restaurant | Maximum: Ratio | 3.5 | per 1,000 sq ft | Code of Ordinances s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a[6] | |
| Drive-through restaurant | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 1,000 sq ft GFA | See general retail establishment | Code of Ordinances s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a[6] |
| Drive-through restaurant | Maximum: Ratio | 3.5 | per 1,000 sq ft | Code of Ordinances s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a[6] | |
| General office | Minimum: Ratio, a band of a marginal ladder | 1 | per 500 sq ft | the first 2,000 sq ft GFA | Code of Ordinances s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a[6] |
| General office | Minimum: Ratio, a band of a marginal ladder | 1 | per 1,000 sq ft | above 2,000 sq ft | Code of Ordinances s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a[6] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio | None | Wholesale/distribution (indoor and outdoor), all manufacturing and truck freight terminals | Code of Ordinances s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a[6] | |
| Self storage | Minimum: Ratio | None | Code of Ordinances s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a[6] | ||
| Car wash | Minimum: Ratio | None | Code of Ordinances s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a[6] | ||
| Gas station with convenience store | Minimum: Stated | as required by the board for special use approval | Filling station | Code of Ordinances s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a[6] | |
| RV park or campground | Minimum: Stated | not codified | Table 295-403-2-a[6] |
- Is the site in this area downtown zoning districts (Except for within the C9A district). If yes: no off-street motor vehicle parking spaces shall be required. Every use; s. 295-403-2-a[6]
- Is the site in this area RED redevelopment districts. If yes: No minimum. Every use; s. 295-403-2-a[6]
- Is the site in this area inside the area bounded by Capitol Drive, Lincoln Avenue, Lake Michigan and 43rd Street/Sherman Boulevard, within 1,000 ft of a local bus stop, or within 1,320 ft of a BRT station. If yes: 25% reduction. Every use; s. 295-403-2-b[6]
Minimum not verified in our research for: Assisted living.
New York, New York
- Is the site in this area Inner Transit Zone, Manhattan Core, LIC. If yes: none. Multifamily; Zoning Resolution (City of Yes for Housing Opportunity)[11]
Minimum not verified in our research for: Hotel or motel; Multifamily; General retail; Sit-down restaurant; Drive-through restaurant; General office; Warehouse or industrial; Self storage; Car wash; Gas station with convenience store; RV park or campground; Assisted living.
Phoenix, Arizona
| Use | Rule | Ratio as stored | Unit | Condition | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per dwelling unit or rooming unit | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] | |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 1.5 | per dwelling unit | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] | |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Part of the total | 0.25 | per unit unreserved | when 5+ units | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] |
| General office | Minimum: Ratio, a tier (the ladder is not stated) | 1 | per 300 SF | Under 50,000 SF | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] |
| General office | Minimum: Ratio, a tier (the ladder is not stated) | 3.5 | per 1,000 | 50,000 to 250,000 SF TLA | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] |
| General office | Minimum: Ratio, a tier (the ladder is not stated) | 3.2 | per 1,000 (unit as written for the tier above) | 250,001 to 600,000 | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] |
| General office | Minimum: Ratio, a tier (the ladder is not stated) | 2.8 | per 1,000 (unit as written for the tier above) | 600,001 to 1,000,000 | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] |
| General office | Minimum: Ratio, a tier (the ladder is not stated) | 2.7 | per 1,000 (unit as written for the tier above) | over 1,000,000 | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 1.5 workers (two largest shifts) | Specified use | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Plus | 1 | per 300 SF office | Specified use | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio, a tier (the ladder is not stated) | 1 | per 1,000 SF | shell building, to 150,000 SF | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio, a tier (the ladder is not stated) | 1 | per 2,000 SF | shell building, to 500,000 SF | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio, a tier (the ladder is not stated) | 1 | per 2,500 SF | shell building, above 500,000 SF | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] |
| Self storage | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 35 storage units | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] | |
| Self storage | Minimum: Plus | 2 | spaces for manager's apartment | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] | |
| Car wash | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 3 non-office employees | Automated | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] |
| Car wash | Minimum: Plus | 1 | per 300 SF office and sales | Automated | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] |
| Car wash | Minimum: Plus | 2 | per 24 feet of wash bay | Automated | Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702.C[1] |
Minimum not verified in our research for: General retail; Sit-down restaurant; Drive-through restaurant; Gas station with convenience store; RV park or campground; Assisted living.
River Heights, Utah
| Use | Rule | Ratio as stored | Unit | Condition | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per guest room | River Heights Title 10, Ch. 14[26] | |
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Plus | associated uses | River Heights Title 10, Ch. 14[26] |
Minimum not verified in our research for: Multifamily; General retail; Sit-down restaurant; Drive-through restaurant; General office; Warehouse or industrial; Self storage; Car wash; Gas station with convenience store; RV park or campground; Assisted living.
San Antonio, Texas
- Is the site in this area IDZ-1 and IDZ overlay. If yes: no minimums. Every use; Information Bulletin 541[13]
- Is the site in this area IDZ-2 and IDZ-3. If yes: may reduce 50%. Every use; Information Bulletin 541[13]
Minimum not verified in our research for: Hotel or motel; Multifamily; General retail; Sit-down restaurant; Drive-through restaurant; General office; Warehouse or industrial; Self storage; Car wash; Gas station with convenience store; RV park or campground; Assisted living.
San Diego, California
| Use | Rule | Ratio as stored | Unit | Condition | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Multifamily | Maximum: Ratio | 1.0 | per unit | Downtown | SDMC 142.0528[8] |
Minimum not verified in our research for: Hotel or motel; Multifamily; General retail; Sit-down restaurant; Drive-through restaurant; General office; Warehouse or industrial; Self storage; Car wash; Gas station with convenience store; RV park or campground; Assisted living.
Seattle, Washington
- Is the site in this area urban centers and Station Area Overlay, and in urban villages within frequent transit (hospitals excepted). If yes: No minimum. General retail, Sit-down restaurant, Drive-through restaurant, General office, Warehouse or industrial; SMC 23.54.015 Table A[12]
Minimum not verified in our research for: Hotel or motel; Multifamily; General retail; Sit-down restaurant; Drive-through restaurant; General office; Warehouse or industrial; Self storage; Car wash; Gas station with convenience store; RV park or campground; Assisted living.
Tucson, Arizona
| Use | Rule | Ratio as stored | Unit | Condition | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per rental unit | Travelers' Accommodation, Lodging | UDC Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Plus | 1 | per 300 sq ft GFA of conference, restaurant, retail, bar and banquet space | Travelers' Accommodation, Lodging | UDC Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 1.00 | per unit | 0 to 70 du/ac: studio under 400 sq ft | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 1.50 | per unit | 0 to 70 du/ac: studio over 400 sq ft and 1 BR | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 2.00 | per unit | 0 to 70 du/ac: 2 BR | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 2.25 | per unit | 0 to 70 du/ac: 3 BR | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 2.50 | per unit | 0 to 70 du/ac: 4+ BR | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 1.25 | per unit | Over 70 du/ac | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per unit | 2 to 5 units on a site | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| General retail | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 300 sq ft GFA | Retail Trade Use Group | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| General retail | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 300 sq ft GFA | shopping center | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Sit-down restaurant | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 100 sq ft GFA and outdoor seating area | Food Service | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Drive-through restaurant | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 100 sq ft GFA | Same as Food Service; no separate drive-through ratio | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 1,000 sq ft GFA | Industrial | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio, a band of a marginal ladder | 1 | per 2,000 sq ft of storage area | Wholesaling, the first 20,000 sq ft | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio, a band of a marginal ladder | 1 | per 10,000 sq ft | Wholesaling, above the first 20,000 sq ft | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 5,000 sq ft GFA | Commercial Storage | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Self storage | Minimum: Ratio | 0 | for units with direct vehicular access | Personal Storage with direct vehicular access | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Self storage | Minimum: Plus | 2 | spaces minimum for any office | Personal Storage with direct vehicular access | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Self storage | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 4,000 sq ft GFA | Without direct access | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Self storage | Minimum: Plus | 2 | spaces minimum for office | Without direct access | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Car wash | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per 500 sq ft GFA including bays, tunnels, office and retail | Full-service | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| Car wash | Minimum: Ratio | 0 | spaces | Self-service | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
| RV park or campground | Minimum: Ratio | 1 | per campsite | Travelers' Accommodation, Campsite | UDC Sec. 7.4.4, Table 7.4.4-1[4] |
Minimum not verified in our research for: General office; Gas station with convenience store; Assisted living.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
| Use | Rule | Ratio as stored | Unit | Condition | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Ratio | 0.65 | per guest room | all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| Hotel or motel | Minimum: Plus | spaces for restaurants/bars and assembly/meeting space | all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] | |
| Multifamily | Minimum: Ratio | 1.00 | per dwelling unit | all Household Living; all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| General retail | Minimum: Ratio | 2.50 | per 1,000 sq ft | all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| General retail | Minimum: exemptFirst | 5,000 | sq ft (none for the first 5,000 sq ft) | all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| Sit-down restaurant | Minimum: Ratio | 6.50 | per 1,000 sq ft | all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| Sit-down restaurant | Minimum: exemptFirst | 5,000 | sq ft (none for the first 5,000 sq ft) | all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| Drive-through restaurant | Minimum: Plus | stacking spaces under 55.100 | all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, 55.100[24] | |
| General office | Minimum: Ratio | 2.20 | per 1,000 sq ft | all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| General office | Minimum: exemptFirst | 5,000 | sq ft (none for the first 5,000 sq ft) | all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio | 0.15 | per 1,000 sq ft | Wholesale, distribution and storage; all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| Warehouse or industrial | Minimum: Ratio | 0.85 | per 1,000 sq ft | manufacturing and industry; all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| Self storage | Minimum: Ratio | 0.10 | per 1,000 sq ft | all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| Car wash | Minimum: Stated | No numeric ratio | stacking requirements of 55.100 only; all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, 55.100[24] | |
| Gas station with convenience store | Minimum: Ratio | 1.50 | per 1,000 sq ft | Fueling station; all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| Gas station with convenience store | Minimum: Ratio | 2.50 | per 1,000 sq ft | Convenience goods retail; all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| Gas station with convenience store | Minimum: exemptFirst | 5,000 | sq ft (none for the first 5,000 sq ft) | Convenience goods retail | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| RV park or campground | Minimum: Ratio | 0.65 | per camping space | Campgrounds and RV parks; all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
| Assisted living | Minimum: Ratio | 0.33 | per dwelling unit | all districts other than CBD | Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 (Ord. 25429, eff. 12/10/2024)[24] |
- Is the site in this area Neighborhood Infill Overlay (20.080-E). If yes: cuts Household Living minimums by a further 50%. Multifamily; Tulsa Zoning Code 20.080-E[24]
State rules that reach local codes
The lookup asks these as location questions in every city of the state, except where the city has no minimum at all.
| State | Part | Rule, as stored | Applies to | Effect | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| California | Area | one-half mile of public transit (a major transit stop) (from January 1, 2023) | residential, commercial, or other development project | shall not impose or enforce any minimum automobile parking requirement | Gov. Code 65863.2[14] |
| Colorado | In effect from | June 30, 2025 | HB24-1304[15] | ||
| Colorado | Scope | qualifying multifamily projects in DOLA-mapped transit service areas | Multifamily | the state statute as controlling, whatever the local code says | HB24-1304[15] |
| California | Accessible parking | does not override EV-charging or accessible-space requirements | Gov. Code 65863.2(f), (i)[14] |
Not verified in our research: whether California's preemption excludes hotels, the current definition of a major transit stop, and Colorado's large-project exception.
Cities not verified in our research
For these cities our research did not verify a ratio, a no-minimum rule or a mapped area from the code itself, so the lookup reports every use as not verified in our research.
- Albuquerque, New Mexico
- Arlington, Texas
- Atlanta, Georgia
- Boston, Massachusetts
- Chicago, Illinois
- Colorado Springs, Colorado
- Columbus, Ohio
- El Paso, Texas
- Fresno, California
- Indianapolis, Indiana
- Jacksonville, Florida
- Kansas City, Missouri
- Las Vegas, Nevada
- Lee, Massachusetts
- Lenox, Massachusetts
- Long Beach, California
- Louisville, Kentucky
- Memphis, Tennessee
- Mesa, Arizona
- Miami, Florida
- Minneapolis, Minnesota
- Nashville, Tennessee
- New Orleans, Louisiana
- Oakland, California
- Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
- Omaha, Nebraska
- Orlando, Florida
- Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
- Salt Lake City, Utah
- San Francisco, California
- San Jose, California
- Tampa, Florida
- Virginia Beach, Virginia
- Washington, District of Columbia
- Watertown, Massachusetts
- Wichita, Kansas
Worked examples
Computed by the lookup's own engine from the rows above when this page was built.
- City
- Use
- Quantity entered
- 20,000
- No (outside)
- No (outside)
- No (outside)
- Reading
- Estimated minimum, spaces
- Arithmetic
- Citation
- Estimated maximum, spaces
- ()
- Arithmetic, maximum
- Rounding
- City
- Use
- Reading
- Minimum, as the code states it
- ,
- In effect from
- Accessible parking
- Not verified in our research
- ;
- City
- Use
- Quantity entered
- 100
- Reading
- Estimated minimum, spaces
- Arithmetic
- Citation
- Rounding
- Not verified in our research
- ; ; ;
What the lookup leaves out
The lookup shows a city only where our research verified its rule from the code, an ordinance or an official city page. Tulsa's ratios were checked against the consolidated Tulsa Zoning Code (as amended, effective October 21, 2025) before they were shown. The ratio tables for San Antonio and Jacksonville were read from copies of the code that could not be checked against the official host, so both are listed as not verified, with San Antonio's mapped IDZ areas the one exception. Minneapolis, San Francisco and Kansas City have no-minimum rules our research could not confirm from the ordinance itself, so the lookup lists them as not verified too.
A use the code does not list by name is not mapped to the nearest listed use. A drive-through restaurant, a convenience store at a gas station and assisted living are often in that position, and the lookup reports them as not verified unless the code itself says which row applies, as Tucson's does for a drive-through at 1 per 100 sq ft GFA [4].
The lookup computes one rule at a time. Tucson's mixed-use developments take 90% of the summed requirement, with restaurant, bar and entertainment area excluded from that calculation [4]; the lookup does not apply that rule, so a mixed-use site needs each use looked up and the code read for how they combine. Where a code leaves the number to a board, the lookup says so: a Milwaukee filling station needs parking "as required by the board for special use approval" [6].
Codes change. The lookup reads every row as researched on October 11, 2026, and it does not read a variance, a parking study or a condition of approval. A preliminary site plan drawn on a lot should be checked against the code in force when the application is filed.
Frequently asked questions
Which cities have no parking minimum?
Six cities in the lookup. Austin's Title 25, as amended by Ord. 20231102-028, passed Nov 2, 2023, sets none [16]. Portland's Ord. 191310 took effect Jun 30, 2023 [17]. Denver's change took effect Aug 11, 2025 [18]. Raleigh adopted TC-11-21 on March 15, 2022 [19]. Sacramento's City Code 17.608.030 sets no minimum for any land use [20], and Baltimore's Bill 25-0065 repealed the minimums per use type [21].
Does California law remove parking minimums near transit?
Yes, within one-half mile of public transit. Gov. Code 65863.2, from AB 2097 and effective Jan 1, 2023, bars a public agency from imposing any minimum automobile parking requirement on a residential, commercial, or other development project within one-half mile of public transit [14]. It does not override EV-charging or accessible-space requirements [14]. Whether it reaches hotels is not verified in our research.
How many parking spaces does a hotel need?
It depends on the city's own table. Los Angeles requires 1 per guest room for the first 30, 1 per 2 rooms from 31 to 60 and 1 per 3 rooms above 60 [3]. Tucson requires 1 per rental unit plus 1 per 300 sq ft GFA of conference, restaurant, retail, bar and banquet space [4]. A Milwaukee residential hotel needs 1 per 2 sleeping rooms [6], and a Fort Worth hotel needs 1 per bedroom unit plus 1 per 4 patron seats in public rooms plus 5 per 1,000 SF display/ballroom [7].
Is there a maximum on retail parking?
Do warehouses need parking?
It depends on the city. Milwaukee requires none for wholesale and distribution, all manufacturing and truck freight terminals [6]. Houston requires 2.5 per 1,000 SF office plus 1.0 per 7,000 SF warehouse for a bulk warehouse [2], and Los Angeles 1 per 500 SF for the first 10,000 SF, then 1 per 5,000 SF above 10,000 SF [3].
How much parking does an RV park or campground need?
Sources
- 1)Zoning Ordinance Sec. 702, Off-Street Parking and Loading, City of Phoenix. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 2)Code of Ordinances Sec. 26-492, parking requirements, City of Houston, Planning and Development Department. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 3)Los Angeles Municipal Code Sec. 12.21, General Provisions, City of Los Angeles. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 4)Unified Development Code Sec. 7.4.4, Required Number of Motor Vehicle Parking Spaces, City of Tucson. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 5)Campground rules, Part 125 of Act 368 (R 325.1551 and following), Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 6)Code of Ordinances Ch. 295, subchapter 4 (s. 295-403, Table 295-403-2-a), City of Milwaukee, Office of the City Clerk. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 7)Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.201, Off-Street Parking Requirements, City of Fort Worth. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 8)Transit Priority Area parking fact sheet, City of San Diego. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 9)Zoning Ordinance Sec. 6.200, General Requirements, City of Fort Worth. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 10)City Council approves Parking Reform for Dallas, City of Dallas. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 11)City of Yes for Housing Opportunity, New York City Department of City Planning. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 12)Ordinance 127376, parking, City of Seattle, Department of Construction and Inspections. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 13)Information Bulletin 541, City of San Antonio, Development Services Department. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 14)AB-2097 Residential, commercial, or other development types: parking requirements, California Legislative Information. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 15)Parking Minimums, Colorado Department of Local Affairs, Division of Local Government. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 16)C20-2023-039 Ordinance Amendment Review Sheet, City of Austin. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 17)Ordinance 191310, City of Portland. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 18)Denver Zoning Code Modernizing Parking Requirements text amendment, City and County of Denver, Community Planning and Development. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- 19)TC-11-21, Parking Minimums, Maximums, and Mitigations (ordinance), City of Raleigh. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- 20)Ordinance 2025-0007, City of Sacramento. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 21)File 25-0065, Zoning: Eliminating Off-Street Parking Requirements, Baltimore City Council. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 22)Chapters 51 and 51A, as amended May 14, 2025. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- 23)Charlotte UDO Article 19, Table 19-1. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- 24)Tulsa Zoning Code Sec. 55.020, Table 55-1 as amended by Ord. 25429. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- 25)Keystone Fig. 3.7 Parking Requirements. Accessed 2026-10-10.
- 26)Title 10, Chapter 14 River Heights City 1 TITLE 10 CHAPTER 14 PARKING SECTION:. Accessed 2026-10-10.
Rules as researched on October 11, 2026. Each row of the table carries its own date.
Start a project with these numbers
Send the site and the program. The studio reads your inputs and the result above with the brief, and replies to scope the preliminary site plan.