Case studies / Car wash / Hillsborough County, Florida

Express car wash site plan in Hillsborough County, Florida

A model express tunnel car wash on 1 to 1.5 acres in unincorporated Hillsborough County, used to show how the county's use table, hearing path, noise rules, PD conditions and water management permits shape the site plan.

Last reviewed

Model program
Express conveyor tunnel, vacuum canopy field and pay-station stacking lanes on 1 to 1.5 acres
Use table
Permitted in CG and CI, conditional in CN, under Table 2.02.02 as reproduced on a secondary mirror [1]
Hearing stage
About 7 to 8 weeks from Zoning Hearing Master hearing to BOCC meeting in the 2024 samples [2, 3, 4]
Equipment noise
55 dBA Leq over 10 minutes, at least 40 ft across a residential line [5]
Water management permit
An ERP above 4,000 sq ft of vehicular or 9,000 sq ft of total impervious surface [6, 7]

A model project in unincorporated Hillsborough County

This page is a model project: an express exterior tunnel car wash on 1 to 1.5 acres, set against the code of unincorporated Hillsborough County, Florida, to show how the county's rules shape a car wash site plan. It is not a client project, and every hearing record cited below is another applicant's case.

Hillsborough publishes its rules, fees and hearing record: the Land Development Code (LDC) and the Development Review Procedures Manual (DRPM) on Municode, itemized fee schedules, application pages, and zoning staff reports on the county's Legistar site [8, 9, 10, 11, 3]. The LDC in force is Supplement 58, codified through Ord. No. 26-8 (adopted January 15, 2026), with an online update of August 17, 2026 [8]. One section of the code is written for car washes, Sec. 6.11.121, and it governs the CN district alone [12]; elsewhere the layout answers to the use table, the access, buffer, noise and stormwater rules, and the conditions written into each Planned Development (PD). Pasco County is the comparison for saturation policy: on September 17, 2024 its commissioners voted 5-0 to make new car washes a conditional use with a 1.5-mile proximity test [13, 14].

For the statewide view, see car wash site plans in Florida and site plans in Florida; for the metro, site plans in Tampa; for standards across jurisdictions, the car wash site plan hub and car wash and gas station regulations by state. The same asset under a Texas Specific Use Permit is the Mansfield express car wash case, and every model is listed under case studies.

At a glance

FieldModel project
AssetExpress exterior conveyor tunnel car wash with a vacuum canopy field and pay-station stacking lanes
Parcel1 to 1.5 acres (model)
JurisdictionUnincorporated Hillsborough County; Development Services handles all of the unincorporated county, with zoning first and then site and subdivision engineering review [15]
Code editionLDC Supplement 58, through Ord. No. 26-8 [8]
DefinitionThe LDC treats as a car wash any business washing domestic vehicles by self-serve, automated or staffed means, hand washing and detailing included, whether it is the primary use of a parcel or incidental to one (Part 12.01.00, read on a secondary mirror) [16]
Use tableCar wash facilities permitted (P) in CG and CI and conditional (C) in CN, under Table 2.02.02 as reproduced on a secondary mirror whose amendment history runs to Ord. No. 17-28 [1]
CN districtSelf-service or automated washes only, inside a structure with a roof and at least two sides (Sec. 6.11.121.A) [12]
PDAny use is potentially permitted in a PD, subject to the Comprehensive Plan and the code's PD rules [1]
DecisionZoning Hearing Master (ZHM) holds the hearing and recommends; the Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) decides [17]

Under the table's legend, a conditional use needs no public hearing unless its Article VI standard says otherwise [1]. The CN clause has a history. Its earlier text (Ord. No. 09-62, eff. 2-1-2010) allowed self-service washes only; the 2019 amendment, Ord. No. 19-23, added automated washes [12, 18]. The current Municode text controls over the older wording the elaws mirror still shows [12]. Read literally, the amended clause admits an automated tunnel in CN if the tunnel is roofed and walled on at least two sides, and a Zoning Interpretation ($1,274.78) is the county's instrument for settling that reading [10]. The Part 6.11 standards add to the rest of the code rather than replace it, and staff check them during development review without extra procedural steps unless a use is flagged (Sec. 6.11.01) [19].

Approval path

Every approval in order, from the county's published process, fee pages and staff reports. Where the record gives no fee, timeline or seal, the cell says so.

#ApprovalBodyCode or sourceStageFeeTimelineSeal
1Informal zoning counseling (optional)Development ServicesDRPM Sec. 6.0, counseling available on request [9]Pre-applicationNot statedNot statedNot stated
2PD pre-submittal conferenceDevelopment ServicesRequired before a PD application [20]Pre-applicationNot statedBefore filingNot stated
3By-right zoning review in CG or CIDevelopment Services, within site plan reviewTable 2.02.02, read on a secondary mirror [1]Site planZoning review $471.37 at the construction plan stage [11]Within site reviewNot stated
4Standard District rezoningZHM recommends, BOCC decides [17]LDC Part 10.03.00; DRPM Sec. 6.0 [8, 9]Zoning$5,333.98 new; $275 second resubmission [10]Same hearing sequence as a PDNot stated
5PD rezoningZHM hearing, then BOCC land use meetingLDC Part 5.03.00 and Part 10.03.00; DRPM Sec. 6.2.1; record rule of Ord. 92-05 [8, 9, 21]Zoning$9,643.80 new; $1,876.30 second resubmission [10]Sufficiency Review Meeting after submittal; ZHM recommendation 15 business days after the hearing [20]; BOCC about 7 to 8 weeks after the ZHM in the 2024 samples [2, 3, 4]Not stated
6Special Use, if requiredZHM or BOCCNot statedZoning$3,758.21 [10]Not statedNot stated
7VarianceHearingNot statedZoning$1,985.82 [10]Not statedNot stated
8PD modification or minor changeNot stated; a minor change is administrativeNot statedPost-zoningMajor modification $9,226.73; minor modification $4,484.15; minor change $405.22 [10]Not statedNot stated
9PD general site plan certificationDevelopment ServicesGeneral Site Plan Review guide [22]After the ZHMNot separateSubmit within 10 calendar days of the ZHM recommendation; notification within 21 calendar days; formal processing up to 30 calendar days [22]Certified document; seal not stated
10Preliminary Site Development (optional, can be waived)Development Services, EPC, FireLDC Part 10.01.00 [23]Site plan$2,630.30 in listed line items, plus Grand Oaks $358.27 if applicable [11]Not statedNot stated
11Site Development Construction PlanDevelopment Services, EPC, Utilities, Fire; Development Review CommitteeDRPM Sec. 4.1.5.1.2 [24]Construction drawings$4,001.50 in listed items plus $175 review and processing; Stormwater Master Plan $1,500 and Grand Oaks $382.47 if applicable [11]Agency review 20 working days, then a DRC meeting within 9 working days; resubmittals reviewed in 10 working days [24]Not stated
12SWFWMD Environmental Resource Permit (10-2 self-certification or individual permit)SWFWMDRule 62-330.020, F.A.C.; s. 403.814(12), F.S. [6, 25]State permitNot statedSelf-certification is electronic, before construction [25]Not stated
13Wetland review, where a wetland or other surface water is presentEPCEPC Rule Ch. 1-11 [3]Before land alterationIncluded in the EPC review feesDelineation before the land alteration permit [3]Not stated
14Water and wastewater service, pretreatmentHillsborough County Public UtilitiesCh. 120 (Ord. 06-31), Arts. I to VI [26]UtilitiesWater/Wastewater Service Application $373.71 in preliminary review [11]Not statedNot stated
15Access: FDOT District 7 on state roads, or the countyFDOT or County EngineerLDC Part 6.04.00 [27]AccessCounty Transportation Site Access review $108.26 [11]Not statedNot stated
16Floodplain reviewCounty floodplain administratorCounty floodplain ordinanceWith the building permitNot statedNot statedNot stated
17Building permit and fireDevelopment Services Building; Fire MarshalFlorida Building CodeBuildingFire $15 per site review stage [11]Not statedNot stated
18Impact and mobility feesDevelopment ServicesRates and Fees Schedule effective October 1, 2026 to September 30, 2027 [28]At permitNon-residential development pays the fire impact fee and the mobility fee [28]At permitNot stated
19Certificate of occupancyDevelopment ServicesNot statedClose-outNot statedNot statedNot stated

The zoning fee page was last modified 3/26/2025, and a Fastrack surcharge of 25% applies with management authorization [10]. The site development fee page was last modified 7/8/2025 [11].

The hearing stage is the best-documented clock. Staff reports show ZHM April 15, 2024 to BOCC June 11, 2024 (PD 23-0780), ZHM July 22, 2024 to BOCC September 10, 2024 (MM 24-0678) and ZHM August 19, 2024 to BOCC October 8, 2024 (PD 24-0579), about 7 to 8 weeks in each of the 2024 samples; an earlier case, PD 22-0719, ran from ZHM January 17, 2023 to BOCC March 7, 2023 [2, 3, 4, 29]. Before the hearing, MM 25-0920 was filed on 06/04/2025 and heard by the ZHM on September 15, 2025, about 3.4 months later [21]. Added together, the sampled cases put a PD at roughly 5 months to entitlement, a figure derived from records rather than a published standard [21].

The BOCC's review is restricted to the record as defined in Ordinance 92-05 [21]. Parties who appeared or submitted evidence at the ZHM hearing, and designated representatives of registered neighborhood organizations within 1 mile, have standing before the board [30]. The plan and the evidence therefore have to be complete at the ZHM hearing, because the Department receives the ZHM's recommendation 15 business days later and the board decides on that record [20, 21].

Design standards

StandardValueCitation
Noise, residential receiver60 dBA 7am to 10pm; 55 dBA 10pm to 7am (Leq, 10 minutes)EPC Rule Ch. 1-10 [5]
Noise, commercial and industrial receiversCommercial 65 dBA at all times; industrial 70 dBAEPC Rule Ch. 1-10 [5]
Pumps, compressors, A/C55 dBA Leq over 10 minutes, at least 40 ft across a residential property line, at any timeEPC Rule Ch. 1-10 [5]
Octave bands, residential receiver, day63 Hz: 63 dB; 125 Hz: 64 dB; 250 Hz: 57 dBEPC Rule Ch. 1-10 [5]
Octave bands, residential receiver, night125 Hz: 59 dB; 250 Hz: 53 dBEPC Rule Ch. 1-10 [5]
ERP thresholdsWork in, on or over wetlands or other surface waters; more than 4,000 sq ft of impervious and semi-impervious surface subject to vehicular traffic; more than 9,000 sq ft of total impervious and semi-impervious surfaceRule 62-330.020(2)(a) to (c), F.A.C. [6, 7]
10-2 general permitUnder 10 acres of project area and under 2 acres of impervious surfaces. 403.814(12), F.S. [25]
PD buffer (condition practice)20 ft buffer with Type B screeningPD 23-0780; PD 22-0719 [2, 29]
Buffering in the staff report templateBuffering and screening under LDC Sec. 6.06.06 unless the conditions say otherwise; enhanced frontage landscaping of 4-inch caliper trees at 30 ft on centerMM 24-0678, Condition 3 [3]
Corridor preservationUp to 2 ft of right-of-way preserved on Sheldon Road; building setbacks measured from the future right-of-way lineMM 24-0678, Condition 9 [3]
CN car washSelf-service or automated only; roof and at least two sidesLDC Sec. 6.11.121.A, Ord. No. 19-23 [12]

A SWFWMD file letter states the impervious thresholds in plain terms: the "net allowable increase of impervious surface area on the project site is 9,000 square-feet, of which a maximum of 4,000 square feet can be subjected to vehicular traffic without requiring a permit" [31]. The county's own parking ratio and stall dimensions are taken from the current code edition when the plan is drawn; this page does not restate them from an older supplement.

Provisions that bind the layout

Drive-in service stacking, LDC Sec. 6.04.01.G: a development with drive-in service has to set its service area far enough back from the road that waiting vehicles are stored inside the property, so that a backup neither blocks the service nor interferes with traffic on the highway [27]. Driveway throat, same section: driveway length follows the stacking length expected for entering and exiting vehicles at the peak period, and a driveway that will be signalized has its length set by a traffic study of expected traffic and queues [27].

Equipment noise, EPC Rule Ch. 1-10 (agency summary):

"Air Conditioning, Pumps and Compressor noise source standards apply at any time day or night. This equipment must meet 55 decibels on the A-Scale as an Leq for a 10-minute period, measured at a distance of at least 40 feet across a residential real property line." [5]

Access on a state road, standard PD condition (PD 23-0780):

"No vehicular access to the proposed PD shall be permitted except as otherwise provided for herein these conditions, and all such access shall be subject to FDOT review and permitting." [2]

Corridor preservation, MM 24-0678, Condition 9:

"the developer shall designate up to 2 feet of right of way preservation along the project frontage on Sheldon Road. Building setbacks shall be calculated from the future right-of-way line." [3]

Wetlands, MM 24-0678, Condition 12 (EPC):

"The size, location, and configuration of the wetlands may result in requirements to reduce or reconfigure the improvements depicted on the plan." [3]

The same staff report template carries two rules that govern how the plan is read. Where the notes or graphics on the site plan conflict with a zoning condition or the LDC, "the more restrictive regulation shall apply," and LDC standards named in the conditions are read as "the regulations in effect at the time of preliminary site plan/plat approval" [3]. Staff also quote Comprehensive Plan FLUE Policy 1.4, which lists the elements of compatibility: height, scale, mass and bulk of structures, pedestrian or vehicular traffic, circulation, access and parking impacts, landscaping, lighting, noise, odor and architecture, and adds that "Compatibility does not mean 'the same as.'" [3, 32]. MM 24-0678 is not a car wash; its conditions come from the county's staff report template, created 8-17-21 [3].

Stacking benchmarks from other codes

The model sizes its queue by the Sec. 6.04.01.G test above, reviewed through access management and, for a signalized driveway, a traffic study [27]. Codes that publish a count give the scale. Pembroke Pines, Florida (§ 155.508) requires 8 entrance and 3 exit spaces for an automatic wash, 18 entrance and 5 exit spaces for a full-service wash, 1 space per vacuum, and no tunnel entrance or exit facing adjacent residential property, a rule that does not apply across a right of way [33]. Across the codes that set a count, the mode is 8 to 10 spaces per tunnel lane at 9 x 18 or 9 x 20 ft, which works out to 180 to 200 ft of queue per lane [34, 35, 36].

Noise, water and pretreatment

EPC sets its limits by receiver type, and on a car wash site the dryer exit and the central vacuum producer are the sources that control. Measured data from studies elsewhere shows the scale: a Lawrence Township, New Jersey sound study recorded a 15 hp dryer at 95.8 dBA at 1 m and tunnel exits at 91 to 92.6 dBA [37], and a Cranford, New Jersey report measured blowers at about 68 dBA at 50 ft from the entrance, with an automatic door bringing that to about 50 dBA [38]. The EPC text does not classify vacuum turbines expressly; treating them as pumps and compressors, held to 55 dBA at 40 ft, is a conservative reading rather than a stated rule [5]. Against a 55 dBA night limit at a residential receiver, door and exit orientation are layout decisions, not equipment details.

The county enforces SWFWMD year-round water restrictions, which cover car washing as an outdoor use [39], and the SWFWMD Modified Phase III Extreme Water Shortage Order was extended through March 31, 2027, as reported by Pasco County [40]. Florida DEP publishes a closed-loop recycle best-practice guide under which spent process water goes to a DEP-permitted facility [41]. For the design and cost side of reclaim, see water conservation in car wash design.

The International Carwash Association reports that "Greater than 99 percent of professional car washes discharge effluent to a sanitary sewer" [42]. In Hillsborough the Public Utilities Industrial Pretreatment Program permits industrial dischargers, and its Grease Management program "conducts scheduled and unannounced inspections at non-permitted facilities (i.e. food service establishments, automotive repair and maintenance garages, car wash facilities, and commercial laundries)" under Ch. 120 (Ord. 06-31) [26]. EPC itself states: "We do not require permits if car wash water is disposed via sanitary sewer. However, the sewer authority has an approval process for connection to sewer." [43]. Palm Beach County shows the operating terms a Florida utility attaches: annual cleaning, sampling every six months, and oil and grease of 100 mg/L or less, with a surcharge when exceeded [44]. The preliminary plan reserves the interceptor location; the engineer of record sizes the device.

Diagram of an express tunnel car wash site with stacking lanes, vacuum canopy field, equipment room and buffer
Illustrative diagram, not to scale: the model car wash program and the buffer and noise distances this page cites from the sources listed below.

Constraints that resize the site

ConstraintRuleEffect on the modelSource
Stormwater and ERPMore than 4,000 sq ft of vehicular or 9,000 sq ft of total impervious surface triggers an ERP; 10-2 self-certification covers projects under 10 acres with under 2 acres imperviousAlways triggered by a tunnel wash at this scale; a retention or treatment area is carved from the parcel[6, 7, 25]
County stormwaterStormwater review at both site plan stages; Stormwater Master Plan fee $1,500 if applicableFee and review at both stages[11]
Wetlands and other surface watersEPC Ch. 1-11 prohibits wetland impacts "unless they are necessary for reasonable use"; delineation by EPC or SWFWMD before land alteration permits; EPC wetland review is a separate agency approval noted in staff reportsCan force the plan to be reduced or reconfigured (Condition 12 above)[3, 45]
Coastal High Hazard Area and evacuationFlagged on staff report checklists; MM 24-0678 sits entirely in the CHHA, Evacuation Zone APolicy review item; no car-wash-specific CHHA restriction was found[3]
Corridor preservationRight-of-way reservation on Corridor Preservation Plan roads with setbacks from the future line; right-of-way dedication to FDOT on US 92 in PD 22-0719Shrinks usable frontage depth[3, 29]
FDOT accessTransportation staff objected to RZ STD 24-0862 "in part due to comments received from FDOT regarding the property's anticipated access to US Hwy 92" and found it "not supportable"State-road access can defeat a rezoning outright[46]
Substandard county roadsLDC 6.04.03.L triggers design exceptions or administrative variances (PD 22-1702, PD 24-0239)Off-site improvement cost or a variance[47, 48]
Cross accessLDC 6.04.03.Q cross-access stubs are routinely requiredConsumes a drive aisle edge[3]
Community plansPDs are tested against community plans (Seffner Mango, Brandon, Riverview, Ruskin); PD 22-0719 was found in "direct conflict with the vision of the Seffner Mango Community" planA use the plan does not support draws a staff objection[29, 49]
TreesGrand Oaks Protection review fees, $358.27 preliminary and $382.47 construction, if applicableFee at both stages[11]
Water supplySWFWMD Modified Phase III order extended through March 31, 2027Effect on car washes not stated[40]

Determination: as proposed and as resized

The model program as proposed is an express exterior conveyor tunnel with a vacuum canopy field and pay-station stacking lanes on 1 to 1.5 acres. No car wash rezoning or PD decision appears in the Hillsborough record reviewed for this model, so there is no county record of a tunnel program cut down in review, and this page states no "after" count. What the code and the staff report template do fix is how each element moves.

Program element, as proposedAs resized by the code and the record
Tunnel on a 1 to 1.5 acre commercial parcelPermitted in CG and CI under Table 2.02.02, read on a secondary mirror [1]; in CN only a roofed, two-sided self-service or automated wash [12]; otherwise a Standard District rezoning ($5,333.98, no site plan) or a PD ($9,643.80, with plan-specific conditions) [10]
Pay-station stacking lanesVehicles are stored on the property and driveway length follows the peak-period stacking length (Sec. 6.04.01.G) [27]. The stacking run from pay station to driveway throat is what the site depth has to fit
Vacuum canopy field and equipment roomPumps and compressors must meet 55 dBA Leq at 40 ft across a residential line at any hour [5]. The field, the equipment room and the tunnel exit go on the side of the site that faces commercial land
Site perimeterA 20 ft buffer with Type B screening, the condition PD staff reports apply routinely [2, 29]; buffering under Sec. 6.06.06 with enhanced frontage trees where a condition adds them [3]
Frontage and front setbackOn Corridor Preservation Plan roads, right of way is preserved and setbacks run from the future right-of-way line [3]
Access to the fronting roadOn a state road, access is "subject to FDOT review and permitting" [2], and FDOT comments alone have turned staff against a rezoning [46]
Impervious area: lanes, vacuum bays, drive aislesAbove 4,000 sq ft of vehicular impervious area an ERP applies; 10-2 self-certification covers projects under 10 acres with under 2 acres of impervious surface [6, 25]
Wetland edge, if presentThe EPC wetland line and conservation setback go on every plan, and the wetland can force the improvements to be reduced or reconfigured [3]

Site data and yield

Program benchmarks for a tunnel wash come from out-of-state filings and are illustrative only. A 2025 Fresno, California filing, out of state, shows a 3,500 sq ft tunnel with a 16-stall vacuum area and a 21 ft parapet [50]. In other out-of-state records, a Mister Car Wash in Santa Maria, California sits on 0.92 acres with a 5,381 sf tunnel building (staff report of September 6, 2023) [51]; Blue Wave Express in Pittsburg, California has 1.36 acres, a 100-ft tunnel, three pay lanes and 22 vacuum stalls [52]; and Davis Express in Davis, California has 1.74 acres, a 5,758 sf building and 21 vacuum bays [53]. Across those out-of-state submittals, programs show 12 to 22 vacuum stalls on parcels of 0.92 to 1.74 acres, consistent with the 1 to 1.5 acre model [50, 51, 52, 53].

Site data rowHillsborough rule or input
Gross site area1 to 1.5 acres (model)
Zoning district and routeCG or CI under the use table as read on a secondary mirror; CN conditional; Standard or PD rezoning otherwise [1, 17, 20]
Stacking lanes and queue lengthStored on the property; driveway length by peak-period stacking (Sec. 6.04.01.G) [27]
Buffer and screening20 ft, Type B (PD condition practice) [2]
Frontage landscaping4-inch caliper trees at 30 ft on center where a PD condition requires them [3]
Front setback lineFrom the future right-of-way line on Corridor Preservation Plan roads [3]
Impervious area, vehicular and totalAgainst the 4,000 sq ft and 9,000 sq ft ERP triggers [6]
Vacuum field and equipment to the nearest residential lineAgainst the 40 ft EPC measurement line [5]
Wetland line and conservation setbackLabeled "EPC Wetland Line" and "Wetland Conservation Area" on all plans once delineated [3]

Yield is the count of vacuum stalls and stacking spaces left after those rows are satisfied. The page does not compute one from a rule of thumb.

Comparable approvals and policy records, 2021 to 2026

No car wash rezoning or PD decision appears in the Hillsborough record reviewed for this model. The Hillsborough rows are the county's car wash related record and procedural analogs on the same kind of corridor; the rest are the Florida saturation record in Pasco, Cape Coral, Punta Gorda and Collier County.

RecordJurisdictionProgramOutcome and voteConditionsOpposition themes
Fletcher and Rome Car Wash Off-Site, PI#6478 (Sec. 11, Twp. 28, Rng. 18)HillsboroughCar wash with off-site roadway, driveway access and sidewalk improvementsBOCC Land Use, February 11, 2025, consent agenda: permission to "administratively accept the Required Off-Site Improvement Facilities (roadway, driveway access and sidewalks) for Maintenance" [54]Off-site improvements built to county standardsNone recorded on consent
PD 22-0719, US Highway 92, Seffner (3.94 acres, mini-warehouse)HillsboroughProcedural analog on an FDOT arterial, not a car washDevelopment Services "Not Supportable"; Planning Commission "INCONSISTENT" [29]"one (1) full access on US Highway 92, subject to FDOT approval"; right-of-way dedication to FDOT; 20 ft landscape with Type B buffer [29]Community plan conflict
RZ STD 24-0862 (ZHM August 19, 2024)HillsboroughProcedural analog on US Hwy 92 access; program not statedTransportation staff found it "not supportable," in part on FDOT comments about access to US Hwy 92 [46]Not statedNot stated
MM 24-0678, Sheldon Road (ZHM July 22, 2024; BOCC September 10, 2024)HillsboroughNon-car-wash PD; template conditionsHeard by the BOCC on September 10, 2024 [3]Up to 2 ft of right-of-way preservation on Sheldon Road; setbacks from the future line; 4-inch caliper trees at 30 ft on center; wetland reconfiguration condition [3]Not stated
Ord. 24-42 (LDC Secs. 402.3, 525.3, 526.3, 907.3; new Sec. 1106)Pasco CountyCountywide ruleCommissioners voted 5-0 on September 17, 2024 [13, 14]New car washes a conditional use; 1.5-mile proximity test, cut from 5 miles before adoption; design standards; one per MPUD; none in Connected City; one per village in Villages of Pasadena Hills; accessory gas station washes exempt [13, 14, 55]Saturation, with "25 or more" car washes reported in the Wesley Chapel area; low job creation; loss of corridor frontage; "gaudy" structures [14, 56, 57]
Prospect Road and Clinton Avenue car washPasco CountyCar wash, program not statedExempted from the new ordinance as the county's "test case" [14]Design standards and layout negotiated with the county beforehand [14]Not stated
Ord. 16-24 moratoriumCape Coral (Lee County)CitywideAdopted unanimously April 17, 2024; set to expire January 17, 2025 [58, 59]The Cape Coral Breeze reported 16 standalone washes, 9 accessory washes and 12 more in permitting or construction [60]Not stated
Ord. 66-24Cape CoralLDC use table amendmentFirst reading October 2, 2024; approved October 16, 2024, 7-1 as reported by trade press, suspending the moratorium [61]Created LDC Sec. 5.11.17 with "locational and enclosure requirements, residential adjacency" [61]Not stated
Temporary moratoriumPunta Gorda (Charlotte County)Citywide180-day moratorium on new car washes and self-storage, passed 4-1 on February 5, 2025, as reported by Gulfshore Business, with a letter to the Florida Attorney General [62]Council voted to review zoning and implement criteria adopted by Cape Coral (Gulfshore Business report) [62]Water use, chemicals, land use for jobs [62]
Ord. No. 2025-03, Barefoot Williams car wash subdistrictCollier County"11,000 square feet of gross floor area of commercial uses, of which a car wash may be 5,000 square feet" [63]Adopted as Ord. No. 2025-03 [63]Car wash floor area capped inside the commercial subdistrict [63]Not stated

Read together, the decisive car wash actions in this record are legislative. Pasco moved every new stand-alone wash into conditional-use review [13, 14]; Cape Coral answered saturation with a moratorium and then with locational, enclosure and residential adjacency rules [58, 61]; Collier County capped the car wash share of a commercial subdistrict at 5,000 sq ft [63]. In Hillsborough the closest analogs show where a car wash PD would be tested: FDOT access on US 92 [29, 46], corridor preservation [3, 29] and community plan consistency [29]. Pasco's planning director counted 25 freestanding car washes and approximately 72 different types of opportunities to wash a car, as reported by the Tampa Bay Times [64]. Before siting in Pasco, the developer reads the adopted text of new Sec. 1106 for how the 1.5-mile test is measured; the Pasco LDC on Municode is Supp. 21 Update 1, codified through Ord. 26-19 of May 19, 2026 [55, 65].

Board behavior matters as much as the code. A zoning tracking service reports a 7-0 BOCC denial of a Northola Avenue townhome rezoning despite approval recommendations from staff, the Planning Commission and the ZHM; it is not a car wash case, and it is cited for board behavior only [66]. Compare the Mansfield case, where car wash approvals run through Specific Use Permit findings.

Cost and phasing benchmarks

ItemFigureSource and date
County zoning and site review fees$6,806.80 by right; $12,140.78 with a Standard rezoning; $16,450.60 with a PDSum of published line items [10, 11]
Fastrack surcharge25% above the listed feeZoning fee page [10]
PD modificationsMajor $9,226.73; minor $4,484.15; minor change $405.22Zoning fee list [10]
Administrative applications, no hearingZoning verification $250.92; administrative waiver $250.92 (two separate fee lines at the same amount)Zoning fee list [10]
Minor Site Development (a separate county fee path)Zoning $471.37; Natural Resources $362.34; Stormwater $311.45; Site Engineering $168.74; EPC $310Site development fee page [11]
Impact and mobility feesNon-residential development pays a fire impact fee and a mobility fee; Rates and Fees Schedule effective October 1, 2026 to September 30, 2027; new impact fee rates effective March 23, 2026 (RS25-111)Impact fee page [28]
Reclaim systemOwners "have paid in excess of $100,000 for reclaim systems" (trade press, market evidence)Professional Carwashing & Detailing [67]
Hard construction cost, equipment packageNot statedNot stated

The county totals are the sum of published line items [10, 11]:

StageLine items
Preliminary Site DevelopmentNatural Resources $364.56, Stormwater $366.11, Site Engineering $111.73, Zoning $685.25, Water/Wastewater $373.71, Transportation Site Access $108.26, EPC $460, Fire $15, Street and Addresses $145.68
Construction PlanNatural Resources $372.86, Stormwater $637.32, Stormwater Construction Inspections $960, Site Engineering Review $172.66, Site Engineering Inspections $170.03, Zoning $471.37, Utilities $232.24, Reservation of Capacity $24.75, Certificate of Capacity $35.79, EPC $710, Fire $15, Street and Addresses $199.48
Review and processingOne fee, $175

These exclude building, impact, mobility, utility capacity, SWFWMD and FDOT fees. For how the preliminary plan itself is priced, see site plan cost.

Typical phasing, as practice rather than code: due diligence and the pre-submittal conference; zoning entitlement (none on a CG or CI parcel; roughly 5 months for a PD, derived from sampled records); Preliminary Site Development and the ERP in parallel; construction plans, utility and pretreatment approvals; building permit and construction; then off-site improvement acceptance, as at Fletcher and Rome, and the certificate of occupancy [21, 54]. Stormwater is the variable most likely to move the schedule; see stormwater as a site plan variable.

Submittal anatomy

StageWhat the county requiresOn the preliminary site planAdded by the engineer or architect of record
PD rezoningFee payment (DRPM Sec. 2.0); the PD's name and type and the names of the developer, architects, engineers and planners; the county may decline to schedule a hearing for a plan missing required information (DRPM Sec. 6.2.1) [9]. A complete checklist (incomplete applications rejected), general site plan, trip generation and site access analysis per the DRPM using the ITE Trip Generation Manual, 11th Edition, legal description, notice mailing to HOAs, and PDFs at 300 dpi labeled by folio [3, 20]PD general site plan: building footprint, tunnel orientation, stacking lanes, vacuum field, access points, cross-access stub, buffers, setbacks, site data table (acreage, FAR, setbacks, height)Traffic analysis; legal description and survey; engineering basis for access and drainage
EPC conditions at rezoning"EPC Wetland Line" and "Wetland Conservation Area" labels and the conservation or preservation setback line on all plans [3]Wetland line and setback once delineatedSurveyed wetland line
Standard rezoningSubmittal checklist; incomplete applications not accepted; PDFs at a minimum of 300 dpi [17]Concept exhibit only; standard districts are not plan-basedNot stated
PD certificationStaff conditions such as "Remove the notating 'For Concept Purposes Only' from the PD site plan," with only the last sheet certified and other sheets treated as "non-regulatory graphic" material (PD 24-0676) [68]A clean general site plan without concept disclaimers; graphic sheetsNot stated
Preliminary Site DevelopmentReviews by Natural Resources, Stormwater, Site Engineering, Zoning, Water/Wastewater, Transportation Site Access, EPC, Fire, Street and Addresses [11]Layout, circulation, queue, landscape conceptGrading, drainage, utility layout, access design
Construction PlanNatural Resources, Stormwater with inspections, Site Engineering, Zoning, Utilities, capacity certificates, EPC, Fire [11]NoneConstruction drawings, drainage and stormwater calculations, ERP package, pretreatment design
BuildingFlorida Building Code permit setRenderings for marketingArchitectural, structural, MEP and plumbing, including the interceptor

Staff reports reproduce the applicant's "Proposed Site Plan" partial and full sheets in Sections 2.4 and 8.0, so the applicant's plan enters the public hearing record [3, 2]. PD plan sets carry graphic sheets that staff label "non-regulatory," with only the regulatory sheet certified [68]. A rendering shown at the hearing therefore sits outside the conditions; where neighbors or staff object to the look of the building or the vacuum canopy, as Pasco residents did with the "gaudy" critique, a view drawn at the plan's dimensions answers the objection; see car wash rendering.

Conditions and handoff

What survives the hearing in Hillsborough is a set of PD conditions written against the certified plan: access "subject to FDOT review and permitting," right-of-way preservation with setbacks from the future line where the Corridor Preservation Plan applies, a 20 ft buffer with Type B screening, enhanced frontage trees, the EPC wetland line, and a plan cleaned of concept labels [2, 3, 29, 68]. Where the plan's notes conflict with a condition, the more restrictive rule applies [3]. A later minor change to the PD is administrative, at $405.22; a minor modification costs $4,484.15 and a major modification $9,226.73 [10]. In Pasco, the "test case" at Prospect Road and Clinton Avenue shows the other way conditions get set: design standards and layout negotiated with the county before the hearing [14].

The handoff is the split in the submittal table. The preliminary site plan carries the layout, circulation, queue, buffers, the future right-of-way line and the site data table; the client's engineer of record adds grading, drainage, utility layout, access design, stormwater calculations, the ERP package, the pretreatment design and the construction drawings, and the architect of record the building permit set [11, 25]. See preliminary versus final site plans for how the two sets relate, the Gwinnett County gas station case for a Southeast county special-use hearing on fuel retail, and the gas station site plan hub. Market context for the tunnel format is in car wash development in 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Can I build an express tunnel car wash by right in Hillsborough County?

Table 2.02.02, as reproduced on a secondary mirror whose amendment history runs to Ord. No. 17-28, lists car wash facilities as permitted in CG and CI and conditional in CN, and any use is potentially permitted in a PD [1]. In CN the wash must be self-service or automated and sit inside a structure with a roof and at least two sides (Sec. 6.11.121.A) [12]. A Zoning Interpretation costs $1,274.78 [10].

Standard District rezoning or Planned Development?

A Standard District rezoning costs $5,333.98 and needs no site plan. A PD costs $9,643.80, needs a pre-submittal conference before filing and a Sufficiency Review Meeting after it, and ends in a certified plan that the conditions attach to [10, 20, 68].

How long do the hearings take?

The Department receives the Zoning Hearing Master's recommendation 15 business days after the hearing, and in the 2024 samples the BOCC met about 7 to 8 weeks after the ZHM hearing. One 2025 case took about 3.4 months from filing to the ZHM hearing [20, 2, 3, 4, 21].

How many stacking spaces does the model plan for?

The queue is sized by the access management test of Sec. 6.04.01.G, which stores waiting vehicles on the property and sets driveway length by peak-period stacking [27]. Codes that publish a count give the scale; Pembroke Pines requires 8 entrance and 3 exit spaces for an automatic wash [33].

Will the vacuums trigger the noise limits?

Residential receivers are held to 60 dBA from 7am to 10pm and 55 dBA from 10pm to 7am, and pumps and compressors to 55 dBA at 40 ft across a residential line at any time. The EPC text does not classify vacuum turbines expressly, so treating them as pumps and compressors is a conservative reading [5].

Do I need a water management district permit?

Plan on one. Rule 62-330.020(2), F.A.C. regulates more than 4,000 sq ft of impervious area subject to vehicular traffic and more than 9,000 sq ft of total impervious area; the 10-2 general permit covers projects under 10 acres with under 2 acres of impervious surface [6, 7, 25].

Is there a car wash moratorium in Hillsborough County?

None was found. Pasco County made new car washes a conditional use with a 1.5-mile proximity test in September 2024, and Cape Coral adopted a moratorium on April 17, 2024 and replaced it on October 16, 2024 with Ord. 66-24 [13, 14, 58, 61].

Can the PD site plan be labeled conceptual?

Not at certification. In PD 24-0676 staff required the applicant to "Remove the notating 'For Concept Purposes Only' from the PD site plan," and only the last sheet was certified [68].

Sources

  1. 1)Land Development Code Sec. 2.02.02, Table of Allowable Uses (mirror), Hillsborough County, Florida (via hillsboroughcounty-fl.elaws.us, secondary mirror). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  2. 2)Rezoning Application PD 23-0780, Zoning Hearing Master date April 15, 2024 (staff report), Hillsborough County, Florida (Legistar). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  3. 3)Rezoning Application MM 24-0678, Zoning Hearing Master date July 22, 2024 (staff report), Hillsborough County, Florida (Legistar). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  4. 4)Rezoning Application PD 24-0579, Zoning Hearing Master date August 19, 2024 (staff report), Hillsborough County, Florida (Legistar). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  5. 5)Noise Program (EPC Rule Chapter 1-10), Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  6. 6)SWERP Training Overview, Applicant Handbook II and SWFWMD Specific Changes, Southwest Florida Water Management District. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  7. 7)Rule 62-330.020, F.A.C., Regulated Activities, Florida Department of Environmental Protection (via Cornell LII, secondary reproduction). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  8. 8)Hillsborough County Land Development Code, Supplement 58, Hillsborough County, Florida (Municode). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  9. 9)Development Review Procedures Manual, Section 6.0, Procedures for Amendments to Zoning Atlas, Hillsborough County, Florida (Municode). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  10. 10)List of Zoning Fees, Hillsborough County, Florida. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  11. 11)Site Development Process Fees, Hillsborough County, Florida. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  12. 12)Land Development Code Sec. 6.11.121, Car Wash Facilities, Hillsborough County, Florida (Municode). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  13. 13)Pasco County sets new rules for proposed car washes, citing large increase in locations, FOX 13 Tampa Bay. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  14. 14)After minor tweaks, Pasco car wash ordinance passes, Tampa Beacon. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  15. 15)Development Services, Hillsborough County, Florida. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  16. 16)Land Development Code Part 12.01.00, Definitions (mirror), Hillsborough County, Florida (via hillsboroughcounty-fl.elaws.us, secondary mirror). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  17. 17)Apply for Rezoning (Standard District), Hillsborough County, Florida. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  18. 18)Land Development Code Sec. 6.11.121, Car Wash Facilities (mirror with amendment history), Hillsborough County, Florida (via hillsboroughcounty-fl.elaws.us, secondary mirror). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  19. 19)Land Development Code Sec. 6.11.01, Generally, Hillsborough County, Florida (Municode). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  20. 20)Apply for a Planned Development Rezoning, Hillsborough County, Florida. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  21. 21)Public notice of BOCC land use hearings, September 2025, Florida Public Notices (Hillsborough County notice). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  22. 22)Hillsborough County Site Plan Review and Certification Application Guide (copy), manuals.plus (secondary copy of the county guide). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  23. 23)Land Development Code Article X, Administration, Hillsborough County, Florida (Municode). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  24. 24)Development Review Procedures Manual Sec. 4.1.5.1.2, Site Development Construction Plan Review (mirror), Hillsborough County, Florida (via hillsboroughcounty-fl.elaws.us, secondary mirror). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  25. 25)Environmental Resource Permits (10-2 general permit summary), South Florida Water Management District. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  26. 26)Industrial Pretreatment, Dental Amalgam & Grease Management, Hillsborough County, Florida. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  27. 27)Land Development Code Part 6.04.00, Access Management, Hillsborough County, Florida (Municode). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  28. 28)Impact Fees, Hillsborough County, Florida. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  29. 29)Rezoning Application PD 22-0719, Zoning Hearing Master date January 17, 2023 (staff report), Hillsborough County, Florida (Legistar). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  30. 30)Zoning Participation, Hillsborough County, Florida. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  31. 31)SWFWMD Environmental Resource Permit file letter (ERP document o12bm33l), Southwest Florida Water Management District. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  32. 32)Rezoning Application 23-0149, Zoning Hearing Master date April 17, 2023 (staff report), Hillsborough County, Florida (Legistar). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  33. 33)Pembroke Pines Code § 155.508, Car Washes, City of Pembroke Pines, Florida (American Legal Publishing). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  34. 34)Codified Ordinances 1171.09, Car Washes, City of Mayfield Heights, Ohio (American Legal Publishing). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  35. 35)Ordinance 2023-82, Exhibit A (car wash standards), City of Tallmadge, Ohio. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  36. 36)Staff Report, Plan Commission Meeting, May 5, 2026 (Club Car Wash), City of St. Charles, Illinois. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  37. 37)Car Wash Sound Study, Take 5 Express Car Wash, Block 2201, Lot 20, Lawrence Township, New Jersey. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  38. 38)Sound report for a proposed car wash, August 4, 2025, Township of Cranford, New Jersey. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  39. 39)Codes We Enforce, Hillsborough County, Florida. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  40. 40)Water Resources, Pasco County, Florida. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  41. 41)100% Closed-Loop Recycle Systems at Vehicle and Other Equipment Wash Facilities, Florida Department of Environmental Protection. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  42. 42)Water Effluent and Solid Waste Characteristics in the Professional Car Wash Industry, International Carwash Association. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  43. 43)De-minimis Activities, Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  44. 44)Water Utilities: Learn About Pretreatment, Palm Beach County, Florida. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  45. 45)Rezoning Application PD 23-0997, Zoning Hearing Master date May 4, 2024 (staff report), Hillsborough County, Florida (Legistar). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  46. 46)Rezoning Application RZ STD 24-0862, Zoning Hearing Master date August 19, 2024 (staff report), Hillsborough County, Florida (Legistar). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  47. 47)Rezoning Application PD 22-1702, Zoning Hearing Master date April 17, 2023 (staff report), Hillsborough County, Florida (Legistar). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  48. 48)Rezoning Application PD 24-0239, Zoning Hearing Master date June 17, 2024 (staff report), Hillsborough County, Florida (Legistar). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  49. 49)Unincorporated Hillsborough County Rezoning Consistency Review, PD 24-0538, Plan Hillsborough (Planning Commission). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  50. 50)Copper Express Car Wash (CEQA filing), California CEQAnet. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  51. 51)PD2023-0008, U2023-0016, Mister Car Wash staff report, September 6, 2023, City of Santa Maria, California. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  52. 52)Blue Wave Car Wash (CEQA filing), California CEQAnet. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  53. 53)Davis Express Car Wash (CEQA filing), California CEQAnet. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  54. 54)Meeting of BOCC Land Use, February 11, 2025, Hillsborough County, Florida (Legistar). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  55. 55)Pasco County Land Development Code, 2024 ordinances list, Pasco County, Florida (Municode). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  56. 56)Car wash coverage, Neighborhood News. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  57. 57)Pasco County approves limits on new car wash construction, WFLA. Accessed 2026-10-09.
  58. 58)Cape Clips, City Council meeting highlights, April 17, 2024, City of Cape Coral, Florida. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  59. 59)Moratoriums on car washes, self-storage facilities, approved, Cape Coral Breeze. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  60. 60)Cape Coral considers moratorium on new car washes, self-storage facilities, Cape Coral Breeze. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  61. 61)Cape Clips, City Council meeting highlights, October 16, 2024, City of Cape Coral, Florida. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  62. 62)Punta Gorda imposes moratorium on car washes, storage facilities, Gulfshore Business. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  63. 63)Ordinance No. 2025-03, Barefoot Williams, Collier County, Florida. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  64. 64)County moves toward making new car washes a harder sell in Pasco, Tampa Bay Times. Accessed 2026-10-10.
  65. 65)Pasco County Land Development Code, Pasco County, Florida (Municode). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  66. 66)Hillsborough Zoning & Comp Plan Amendments 2026, Zonewire (zoning tracking service, secondary). Accessed 2026-10-10.
  67. 67)Choosing the right water recycling system, Professional Carwashing & Detailing (trade press). Accessed 2026-10-09.
  68. 68)Rezoning Application PD 24-0676, Zoning Hearing Master date July 22, 2024 (staff report), Hillsborough County, Florida (Legistar). Accessed 2026-10-09.

All case studies

Start a project

Bring us the site. We draw the first plan.

Send the parcel, the program and anything you already have: a survey, a sketch, a zoning letter. The studio returns a preliminary site plan your engineer of record can build on.

Start a project